DES MOINES, Iowa – The Pork Checkoff has awarded 20 scholarships to college students around the United States as part of its strategy to develop the pork industry’s future human capital. A National Pork Board committee judged the pool of 48 applicants based on scholastic merit, leadership activities, involvement in the pork production industry and the applicants’ plans for a career in pork production.

“The Pork Checkoff is proud to support these young people who are showing a real interest in the pork industry as a career choice,” said Steve Rommereim, president of the National Pork Board and a producer from Alcester, S.D. “As our industry continues to evolve, we know we will need more qualified young people to take on the various roles in the pork chain. We must support this effort to help ensure the next generation of talent for our dynamic industry.”

The 20 student recipients hail from 10 states and 11 universities across the U.S. The 2019 Pork Industry Scholarship recipients are:

  • McKenna Brinning Keota, Iowa State University.
  • Lucas Buehler Botkins, Ohio State University.
  • Jenna Chance Lebanon, Kansas State University.
  • Katelyn Gaffield Sheldon, University of Illinois.
  • Samuel Gerrard Riner, Iowa State University.
  • Katyann Graham Ames, Iowa State University.
  • Kathryn Groenenboom Oskaloosa, Iowa State University.
  • Wade Hutchens Ewing, Illinois State University.
  • Amberly Jergens Auburn, Iowa State University.
  • Owen Michael Sidney, Kansas State University.
  • Kayla Miller Webster City, Iowa State University.
  • Elizabeth Ries Lomira, University of Wisconsin – River Falls.
  • Mikayla Shanks McClure, Ohio State University.
  • Bryan Stallings Sunbury, North Carolina State University.
  • Ethan Stas Latrobe, Penn State University.
  • Jadelyn Stewart Vermontville, Northwest Missouri State University.
  • Ariel Taylor Medina, Ohio State University.
  • Jordan Travis Altoona, Iowa State University.
  • Madeline Zutz St. Paul, University of Minnesota.

This year’s top scholarship recipients are Jenna Chance and Jadelyn Stewart, who will receive a $5,000- and $3,500-scholarship, respectively. Chance, a senior at Kansas State University, is majoring in animal science. She plans to pursue a master of science degree in swine nutrition at Kansas State University. Ultimately, she would like complete her doctorate in swine nutrition and become a nutritionist with a production or company.

Stewart, a senior at Northwest Missouri State University, is majoring in animal science. She plans to pursue a master of science degree at the University of Illinois. She would like to tailor her degree program to include both animal and environmental science and ultimately work in the swine industry. The other award recipients will receive $2,000 each.

“Recruiting the next generation of thought leaders and decision makers for the swine industry is critical to making continual improvement in how we raise pigs” said Chris Hostetler, director of animal science for the National Pork Board. “The Pork Industry Scholarship program supports students that have made a commitment to the swine industry to pursue advanced degrees in areas of study directly related to pork production.”

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.