Exchange Club’s Book of Golden Deeds awarded

Farm Forum

Glenn Jakober was honored Friday night as the recipient of the “Book of Golden Deeds” award, given by the Aberdeen Exchange Club.

The award was handed out at the Exchange Club’s annual birthday party at the Ward Hotel.

The Book of Golden Deeds Award recognizes volunteers who give hours of their time and talents toward making their communities better places to live, according to a news release. The award has been given by the Aberdeen Exchange Club since 1987.

A longtime employee of Avera St. Luke’s, Jakober, 69, has been a loyal member of many organizations, including Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, according to the release.

He was a board member for two terms of what is now the United Way of Northeastern South Dakota, serving as co-chairman of the 2006 fundraising campaign. He was co-chairman of the United Way’s Rails Club campaign for three years.

He was a board member of the Northern State University Foundation from 2004 to 2008, serving as chairman of the finance committee from 2003 to 2008.

He was on the Presentation College business department advisory board in 2006 and 2007 and on the Healthcare Plus Credit Union board of directors from 1989 to 1991.

Jakober was on the Auxiliary Guest House board of directors from 1996 to 2003.

He was the Dakota Midland Hospital reunion chairman in 2003 and 2008.

He was also a member of the Northwest Neighborhood Association and the coordinator of the Concerned Citizens of Lincoln Township.

From 1972 to 2008, he was a member of the Healthcare Financial Management Association. He was a board member of the South Dakota chapter of that organization from 1976 to 1983.

Jakober has had a longtime involvement with the Aberdeen Area Chamber of Commerce. He was a member of the Ag Committee from 1979 to 2007. He was chairman of the Ag Committee in 1999.

In 2005, he and his wife, Sharon, took out personal membership in the Chamber “because of our respect for the efforts of the Chamber and our appreciation for the life we have had in the Aberdeen area,” he wrote in biographical material.

He chaired the beef station for the Ag Fair from the first fair through 2007. He coordinated the Name the Calf Contest for area fourth-grade students.

Jakober resurrected the Northern Plains Livestock Day in 1992 after the Ag Committee had voted to abandon it. He initiated the Junior No Fit division to level the playing field for beginning exhibitors.

He has also been active in Ducks Unlimited.

He has donated 7.5 gallons of blood.

He was co-organizer of the Prime Cut Bull Exhibition, which was held annually at the Hub City Livestock sales barn from 2000 to 2008.

He contributed and helped raise funds for the construction of the Holum Expo Building.

In 2009, Jakober was presented with the George Award at the annual Community Champions Awards Luncheon.

He owns and operates Jakober Limousine.

He and his wife have been married 44 years. They have one son, Chris, an environmental chemist who lives in California.

Previous winners of the Book of Golden Deeds were Robert J. Perry in 1987, Leo J. Weber in 1988, K.P. Squire Sr. in 1989, Kenneth Beckel in 1990, Bea Premack in 1991, Sister Anna Marie Weinreis in 1992, Frances “Peg” Lamont in 1993, Edna Scott Johnson in 1994, Leo Hansen in 1995, John E. “Jack” Hayes in 1996, V.G. “Vi” Stoia and Aberdeen city employees in 1997, Bennie G. Benson in 1998, F.G. “Bud” Tonner in 1999, Clark Swisher in 2000, Dr. William R. Taylor in 2001, Glenna Fouberg in 2002, Tom Aman in 2003, Lorraine Steele in 2004, Jean E. Weber in 2005, the Rev. Harold E. Salem in 2006, Don Reshetar in 2007, Tom Agnitsch in 2008, Sue Gates in 2009, Rod Fouberg in 2010 and Roger Feickert in 2011. Last year’s winner was Dean Karlen.