Three NSU vocalists finish first at event

Farm Forum

Three Northern State University students captured first place at the South Dakota National Association of Teachers of Singing competition March 23 in Brookings.

Megan Rose Case of Scranton, N.D., placed first in the senior women division. Anthony Rohr of Dickinson, N.D., took first in the senior men division. Emily Davis of Aberdeen finished first in the junior women division.

Davis also received honorable mention in the women’s musical theater division.

A total of 29 Northern students competed in nine divisions at the competition, which totaled 132 students. In addition to Northern, the competition involved students from South Dakota State University, the University of South Dakota, Black Hills State University and South Dakota School of Mines and Technology.

All of the NSU students who competed came from the studios of Northern music faculty members Darci Bultema and Michael Skyles. Bultema was also the auditions coordinator for the competition.

In a news release, Bultema said “I’m so proud” doesn’t even come close to how she feels about the students’ performance.

“The overall quality of competitors and number of students continues to grow at the annual competition, and this year, the auditions were quite competitive,” she said in the statement. All of the students rose to the occasion, “and while some did not advance to the final rounds, the educational experience is a thousand-fold.”

Below are the other NSU finalists:

|Senior women|

Third: Larissa Buchholz, Tripp.

Honorable mention: Yvonne Freese, Lanesboro, Minn.

|Junior men|

Second: Jacob Ebsen, Milbank.

Third: Joseph Weseloh, Watertown.

|Sophomore women|

Second: Natalie Allcock, Britton.

Honorable mention: Kayla Stoebner, Aberdeen.

|Sophomore men|

Honorable mention: Eli Corbett, Lead.

Honorable mention: Jonathan Miller, Kimball.

|Freshman women|

Second: Kaitlin Buchholz, Tripp.

Honorable mention: Heather Kelsey, South St. Paul, Minn.

|Freshman men|

Third: Salvatore Scavo, Hightstown, N.J.

|Musical theater women|

Second: Yvonne Freese.

|Musical theater men|

Honorable mention: Paul Hoselton, Fargo, N.D.

Honorable mention: Benjamin Villa, Rapid City.