Piano auditions involved 54 students, eight teachers

Farm Forum

Fifty-four piano students participated in the 2013 auditions of the National Guild of Piano Teachers at the Johnson Fine Arts Center’s Berggren Recital Hall May 8-10.

Judy England of Salt Lake City was the adjudicator. Students from various levels, from Elementary A through Preparatory D, played programs of three to 20 pieces, and each received a certificate, report card and pin. Students were evaluated on more than 40 items of musicianship.

Students, with the help and advice of their teachers, choose a program from those offered by the Guild. Students may choose memorized programs or those using music scores, jazz programs, duet and ensemble programs and social music programs. A number of musicianship phases may be added in lieu of pieces. All students above Elementary A level are required to play the scales and cadences in the same key as their pieces.

Aberdeen has been an area center for auditions for about 60 years. Nationally, there are 693 centers, which involve more than 118,000 participants.

Northern State University has cooperated with the National Guild Piano Teachers in offering a site for the annual auditions since the 1950s. The local chairwoman is Stephanie Raap. Piano teachers interested in becoming Guild members should call her at 605-229-0739.

Parents interested in finding teachers should call Raap or visit

Teachers and their students who participated in the Aberdeen-area auditions were:

Helen M. Anderson, Aberdeen: Nathan Droege, Brianna Goldade, Jayda Hunstad, Lance LaCroix, Tetyanna Mills, Dan Reisanauer, Grace Ross, Kenissa Ross, Kennedy Schnabel, Regan Schnabel.

Margaret Dixon, Mobridge: Emily Armfield, Hayley Borah, Calico Ducheneaux, Keiara Lesmeister, Jesse Roshau, Ethan Schaffer, Naomi Stroeder, Charlie Tisdall, Andrew Warner, Channing Wientjes, Katelynn Wright, Timothy Wright, Miranda Zabel.

Kay Fischer, Aberdeen: Shelby Bauer, Rachel Beare, Desiree Burggraff, Gracin Chaprnka, Silas Chaprnka, Madison Daugherty, Areeb Khan, Shaheer Khan, Leah Lunstrum.

Marilyn Gibbs, Aberdeen: Taryn Fergel, Gabe Goetz, Olivia Goetz, Hannah Johnson, Tanya Wieland, Tyler Wieland, Lauren Wipf.

Mary Marion, Aberdeen: Jennifer Appl, Grace Gasperich, Hannah Gasperich, Lexi LaFave, Micah Reierson, Lexi Weisbeck.

Katie Miller, Ellendale, N.D.: Madison Anliker, Caleb Hauck, Avery Wolf, Grace Wolff.

Suzanne Olawsky, Webster: Dawson Anderson, Marcus Block, Samantha Chastain, Ashley Garduno, Michael Gravley.

Stephanie Raap, Aberdeen: Carly Comstock, Julia Friedrichsen, Meredith Friedrichsen.