South Dakota 4-H Youth Council announces 2013-2014 team

Farm Forum

BROOKINGS – The South Dakota 4-H Youth Council is an organization composed of 4-H teens from across South Dakota. The group’s focus is to help to develop the minds of youth by increasing and promoting leadership and activity through 4-H.

The 2013-2014 team was recently selected and includes the following students: Abby Keffeler from Sturgis; Miranda Wilkinson from Salem; Jordanne Hows from Redfield; Katie Schoenfelder from Huron; Lizzie Hansen from Redfield; Brittany Hinkle from Highmore; Brooke Olson from Aberdeen; Nathan Duerre from Webster; Gina Elmore from Hot Springs; Moriah Even from Keldron; Nicole Hamilton from Hitchcock; Cully Williams from Frankfort; Emily Ketteler from Fort Pierre; Kiera Leddy from Stockholm; Erin Mairose from Kimball; Callie Sleep from Spearfish; Sydney Sleep from Spearfish; Lane Speirs from Spearfish; Michael Sperry from Bath; and Garrett Stafford from Ipswich. Officers include, Gina Elmore, President; Nathan Duerre, Vice President; Cully Williams, Publicist; Garrett Stafford, Treasurer; Erin Mairose, Secretary and Sydney Sleep, Historian.

These teen leaders will be involved in planning the Teen Leadership Conference, held annually in June on the campus of South Dakota State University. The group also provides leadership training opportunities for youth across the state, and works with volunteers and professional staff to make 4-H more visible.

All members of the South Dakota 4-H Youth Council must be between the ages of 15 and 18 and are enrolled in 4-H. Members can apply to be on Youth Council by getting an application from their local extension office. Applications are due by May 1, 2014. Members can also request an application by e-mailing