NFU honors champions for family agriculture

Farm Forum

WASHINGTON (Sept. 10, 2013) – National Farmers Union (NFU) announced today the recipients of the Golden Triangle Award, the organization’s highest legislative honor. The annual award is presented to members of Congress who have demonstrated leadership and support policies that benefit America’s family farmers, ranchers, fishermen and rural communities.

“Recipients of the Golden Triangle Award have been strong advocates for family farmers and ranchers, and support similar principles and policies as Farmers Union,” said NFU President Roger Johnson. “We are pleased to honor those who have proven to be true allies of our organization and our members across the country.”

This year’s Golden Triangle recipients were selected for their leadership on a variety of issues, including the 2013 Farm Bill, dairy policy, competition, support for the continuation of energy programs and provisions for a safety net for farmers in times of long term market collapse or natural disaster.

The awards will be presented at a reception during NFU’s Fall Legislative Fly-In this evening.

The Golden Triangle Award is based on NFU’s symbol – a triangle with “legislation” and “cooperation” forming the sides and “education” the base. The Golden Triangle Awards have been presented every year since 1988. The following area lawmakers have been named 2013 recipients of the Golden Triangle Award:

· Rep. Bruce Braley, Iowa

· Rep. Jeff Fortenberry, Neb.

· Sen. Al Franken, Minn.

· Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, N.D.

· Sen. John Hoeven, N.D.

· Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Minn.

· Rep. Dave Loebsack, Iowa

· Rep. Collin Peterson, Minn.

· Rep. Tim Walz, Minn.