Pazour named S.D. Beef Council president

Farm Forum

PIERRE – Karla Pazour, a Pukwana, S.D., beef producer, was elected president of the South Dakota Beef Industry Council (SDBIC) during its annual meeting September 14 in Brookings. Pazour, a partner in a family farming enterprise, takes leadership of the organization that administers the $1 beef checkoff on cattle sold in South Dakota.

Pazour, a representative from the South Dakota CattleWomen, replaces Ed Blair, who completed two one-year terms as president. Pazour has been active on the state and national level for several years, most recently serving as SDBIC vice president. During the meeting she was also re-elected to a one-year term as director on the Federation of State Beef Councils after completing a three-year term.

“As SDBIC president, my focus will be on using our checkoff dollars wisely,” said Pazour. “I also want producers to know that they are welcome to attend all board meetings, and I encourage feedback from anyone who pays into the checkoff.”

Wayne Tupper, owner of Kimball Livestock Exchange in Kimball, S.D., was elected SDBIC vice president. Tupper is a representative from the South Dakota Livestock Auction Market Association and is one of SDBIC’s three directors on the U.S. Meat Export Federation. Todd Mortenson, a Hayes, S.D., beef producer, was elected treasurer. In addition to Pazour, Gary Deering, Sturgis-area beef producer, was also elected to a one-year term as a Federation director. Deering is a representative from the South Dakota Stockgrowers Association. Scott Jones, Midland beef producer and representative from the South Dakota Cattlemen’s Association, was named to a two-year term as a Federation director.

New members coming onto the SDBIC board are: Sarah Caslin, Kennebec, replacing Julie Feldhaus (S.D. Cattlemen’s Auxiliary); Laurie Johnson, South Shore, replacing Amanda Radke (S.D. Cattlemen’s Auxiliary); Stacy Hadrick, Faulkton, replacing Ed Blair (S.D. Farm Bureau); and Kodi Blotsky, Valentine, NE, replacing retiring Ruth Farnsworth (S.D. CattleWomen). A replacement for retiring director Bob Fortune (S.D. Stockgrowers) is yet to be named.

Retiring Directors Blair, Farnsworth and Fortune received recognition and awards for their outstanding years of service to the beef industry and the SDBIC. Ed Blair has been a director continuously since 1995. During his tenure he served as a director on the Cattlemen’s Beef Board and Federation. Ruth Farnsworth, Carter, S.D., served as a SDBIC director from 1995-1997 and again from 2010 to 2013. Bob Fortune, Belvidere, became a SDBIC director in 2004 and has served as the organization’s president and as a Federation director.