42 South Dakota FFA members earn the Golden Key

Farm Forum

Forty-two South Dakota FFA members will receive the coveted gold American Degree key, the highest degree awarded by the National FFA Organization. This final step in the FFA Degree system encourages students to grow, achieve, and establish themselves in an agricultural career. Attaining the American FFA Degree requires a solid commitment to agriculture and FFA. This honor recognizes demonstrated leadership abilities and outstanding achievements in agricultural business, production, processing and service programs. Recipients must have earned $7,500 through a supervised agricultural experience program and productively invested those earnings.

Only about one half of one percent of the total national membership attains this high honor. The recipients will be honored at a reception on November 1, 2013 at the 86th National FFA Convention in Louisville, KY. South Dakota’s gold key recipients include:

Abby Albin, Bridgewater-Emery

Amanda Aslesen, Florence

Nichole Barber, Harrisburg

Jessica Bogue, Beresford

Travis Boldt, Arlington

Jenna Brandt, Bowdle

Amanda Buus, Lennox Sundstrom

Brittany Cihak, Bon Homme

Adam Fendrich, McCook Central

Tyler Ferris, Newell

Jordan Fuerstenberg, Harrisburg

Kelli Garry, Lake Preston

Gavin Gassman, McCook Central

Shayne Gottlob, McCook Central

Megan Hemmingson, Clark

Morgan Hemmingson, Clark

Bradley Heumiller, McCook Central

Samantha Keller, Hoven

Melinda Knuth, West Central

Cheyenne Leonhardt, Groton

Taylor Leonhardt, Groton

Elizabeth Mayrose, McCook Central

Greg Mehlbrech, McCook Central

Tyler Mentele, McCook Central

MaryJo Mettler, Menno

Connor Miles, West Central

Shannon Miller, West Central

Linden Niewenhuis, Harrisburg

Riley Olson, West Central

Ross Penning, Harrisburg

Hollie Pommier, Florence

Justin Poppenga, Centerville

Andy Rausch, Hoven

Jackson Rhodes, Faulkton

Joe Schartz, West Central

Riley Schwader, Howard

Marshall Spaans, McCook Central

Darin Stoecker, Hoven

Tyler Swan, Newell

Kristyne Thull, Lake Preston

Culley Tobin, Wessington Springs

Victor Tuschen, McCook Central