South Dakota FFA members earn FFA jackets

Farm Forum

Bath – To its owner, the FFA jacket is a physical reminder of the personal accomplishments achieved through the organization – a symbol of commitment and dedication for all who wear the corduroy. This fall 158 South Dakota FFA members from 44 chapters earned their own FFA jackets through the SD FFA Foundation Blue Jackets Bright Futures FFA Jacket Program – carrying forward that long-standing tradition of pride, dignity and honor. Jackets were sponsored by various individuals through the SD FFA Foundation program, welcoming new members into the fabric of FFA. 218 FFA members filled out the Blue Jackets Bright Futures FFA Jacket Program application, answering four short essay questions about their FFA experience and goals, competing to earn their own FFA jacket instead of purchasing one.

“Whether it’s getting your jacket for the first time, seeing a mob of 50,000 blue jackets wandering the streets of Indianapolis, or proudly hanging your jacket in the closet after an event, each FFA jacket tells a story. Thank you to all the sponsors who have helped members get their stories started this year.” said FFA member Ashley Tonak.

When students join the FFA, they typically purchase or borrow jackets to compete in the many Career Development Events offered through FFA. The jacket is their team “uniform” to be worn at all official FFA events. The blue corduroy FFA jacket has been the status symbol of the national FFA organization since 1933, when delegates to the national convention voted to make the jacket part of the organization’s official attire, thus creating the long standing tradition.

Individuals and businesses interested in sponsoring an FFA jacket for a SD FFA member should contact Gerri Ann Eide, SD FFA Foundation Executive Director at 605-765-4865 or Sponsorships are $55 per jacket.

The SD FFA Foundation is proud to support Agricultural Education and the FFA’s mission to make a difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. For more information about the South Dakota FFA Foundation and South Dakota’s FFA programs, visit or like us on facebook.

The 2013 S.D. FFA jacket recipients are:

(Name, FFA Chapter)

Hannah Renken, Alcester-Hudson

Domenick Wilson, Alcester-Hudson

Donovan Wilson, Alcester-Hudson

Mercedes Johnson, Arlington

Nikki Zobel, Arlington

Julianna Kari, Bison

Jenna Kari, Bison

Jacob Schalesky, Bison

Aly Hanssen, Bridgewater-Emery

Camden Weeldreyer, Bridgewater-Emery

Hunter Jager, Brookings

Sydney Aason, Brookings

Anne Stenberg, Brookings

Tawnee Severson, Canton

Dayton Keyman, Canton

Patrick Minihan, Canton

Gabrielle Limoges, Centerville

Ally Johnson, Centerville

Dylan Olson, Centerville

Tyler Eichmann, Chester

Joseph Streff, Clark

Jay Foster, Clark

Jennifer Hurlbert, Clark

Dani Henkel, DeSmet

Krista Harringa, Deubrook

Stephanie Ponto, Deuel

Brittany Knutson, Deuel

Faith Houghtaling, Doland

Danielle Houghtaling, Doland

Brady Miles, Doland

Cole Noethlich, Doland

David Remily, Doland

David Dunlavy, Doland

Spencer Lewis, Doland

Richard Nyberg, Doland

Caleb Rasmussen, Doland

Bridget Lovelace, Doland

Tucker Thomas, Doland

Skylar Thomas, Elkton

Dominick DeVries, Elkton

Courtney Edgar, Faulkton

Chase Peterson, Florence

Clay Busskohl, Florence

Moriah Flanagan, Garretson

Jake Hansman, Garretson

Grace Homer, Garretson

Carl Cronin, Gettysburg

Drake Davis, Gettysburg

McKenna Dillabaugh, Gettysburg

Jeremy Fegueroa, Gettysburg

Hannah Flatt, Gettysburg

Mercades Genzler, Gettysburg

Josh Langer, Gettysburg

Isabelle Lehman, Gettysburg

David Long, Gettysburg

Joseph Mangin, Gettysburg

Alex Martinez, Gettysburg

Sydney Senyak, Gettysburg

Lucas Smith, Gettysburg

Tanner Storer, Gettysburg

Dallas Wainman, Gettysburg

Jesse Wheeler, Gettysburg

Patrick Gengerke, Groton

Trey Wright, Groton

Morgan Lanier, Harrisburg

Danielle Eckert, Harrisburg

Nathan Harmer, Harrisburg

Andrea Hodom, Harrisburg

Samantha Peterson, Harrisburg

Roza Verbouskaya, Harrisburg

McKenzye Gunderson, Harrisburg

Sean Worlie, Harrisburg

April Hamilton, Hitchcock-Tulare

Erin Barrie, Hitchcock-Tulare

Riley Binger, Hitchcock-Tulare

Skye Chaplin, Hitchcock-Tulare

Caleb Hageman, Hoven

Carrie Lynn Kaiser, Hoven

Kathryn McClure, Hoven

Jacob Rausch, Hoven

Shawnda Rausch, Hoven

Chance Stuwe, Hoven

Zachary Trudo, Hoven

Isabelle Becker, Howard

Hannah Noonan, Howard

Kayla Pardy, Howard

Hanna Peterson, Howard

Dane Dornbusch, Howard

Macey Claussen, Howard

Jordan Maier, Lemmon

Tyler Heil, Lemmon

James Odell, Lemmon

Megan Cramer, Lennox Sundstrom

Jessica Birgholtz, Lennox Sundstrom

Brendan Langbehn, Lennox Sundstrom

Nicole Beis, McCook Central

Lee Kampshoff, McCook Central

Trevor Wilkinson, McCook Central

Brenden Ecklein, McCook Central

Joey Eickman, McCook Central

Kendall Gassman, McCook Central

Rachael Laetsch, McCook Central

Andrew McCormick, McCook Central

Kohl Miller, McCook Central

Cole Schock, McCook Central

Taylen Trisco, McCook Central

Kayla Mentele, McCook Central

Paige Johnson, Milbank

Kadon Leddy, Milbank

Brianna Schreurs, Milbank

Kristine Fairchild, Milbank

Hailey Axemaker, Mitchell

Emily Berens, Parker

Jayden Even, Parker

Samantha Menning, Parker

Kiera Hubers, Platte-Geddes

Kordell DeHaan, Platte-Geddes

Michaela Laughlin, Rapid City

Hunter Johnson, Rapid City

Mary Nold, Rutland

John Eilertson, Rutland

James Mckinstry, Rutland

Dustin Johnson, Sanborn Central

Cody Ruml, Sanborn Central

Spencer Schulte, Sioux Valley

Cadan Koerlin, Sioux Valley

John Papiernik, Sioux Valley

Tricia Wilken, Sunshine Bible Academy

Jana Hunt, Sunshine Bible Academy

Brian LaDue, Sunshine Bible Academy

Sierra Young, Sunshine Bible Academy

Noah Appel, Sunshine Bible Academy

Christina Vogel, Tri-Valley

Lane Hillman, Tri-Valley

Taylor Will, Tri-Valley

Jacia Christiansen, Viborg-Hurley

Cody Huether, Wall

Taylor Richter, Wall

Allan McDonnell, Wall

Riley Ruland, Wall

Jacob Linn, Wall

Joe Ries, Watertown

Leslie Zubke, Watertown

Nolan Richie, Webster

Caleb Brandt, Wessington- Wolsey

Ashley Robinson, Wessington- Wolsey

Jacob Sievers, Wessington- Wolsey

Cody Pearson, West Central

Dalton Larson, West Central

Jared Miller, West Central

Emma Habben, West Central

Ellie Krizan, West Central

Brooke Bruns, Willow Lake

Reis Bruley, Willow Lake

Mikenna Burke, Willow Lake

Lauren Pierce, Wilmot

Saraya Bronson, Wilmot

Calah Covey, Winner