South Dakota Department of Agriculture awards grants to youths

Farm Forum

PIERRE — The S.D. Department of Agriculture announces that 23 grants have been awarded through the Building Our South Dakota Rural Communities (BOSDRC) grant program.

These grants are available annually to 4-H Clubs, FFA Chapters and Family Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) Chapters.

The purpose of the grant program is to assist the agricultural youth in beautifying and improving their communities by working together to accomplish educational and project goals.

The following clubs/chapters were funded:

• 4-H Clubs Incorporated: Bon Homme County

• Honeybees 4-H Club: Brown County

• Center of Nation 4-H Club: Butte County

• Florence FFA: Codington County

• Up & Get It 4-H Club: Davison County

• Webster FFA: Day County

• Horse Head Ranchers 4-H: Fall River County

• Philip FFA Chapter: Haakon County

• Bridgewater-Emery FFA: Hanson County

• Hanson County 4-H Leaders: Hanson County

• Kaylor 4-H Club: Hutchinson County

• Parkston FCCLA: Hutchinson County

• Prairie Hills 4-H Club: Jerauld County

• Madison FCCLA: Lake County

• Helping Hands 4-H Club: Lincoln County

• McCook FFA and McCook 4-H: McCook County

• Miner County 4-H Leaders Association: Miner County

• Flandreau FFA: Moody County

• Happy Youngsters 4-H Club: Moody County

• Wilmot FFA: Roberts County

• Hitchcock-Tulare FFA: Spink County

• Lariat Loopers 4-H Club: Tripp County

• Viborg-Hurley FFA: Turner County

Other financial programs available to South Dakota farmers and ranchers include assistance for beginning farmers, livestock purchase, guarantees, dairy and feedlot expansions, value-added businesses and manure management systems. To learn more about these programs, visit or call 605.773.5436.