Florence FFA chapter has a busy fall season

Farm Forum

Florence FFA members have been busy this fall with participation at state and national events.

Eight Florence FFA members competed in the National FFA Agriscience Fair held at the National FFA Convention in Louisville, KY. Morgen Bunde and Hannah Hintz competed as a team in the Junior Division of the Food Science category where they received a silver medal and placed 14th overall at the national level. Nathan Flemming and Javen Moe competed in the junior team division of the Animal Science category. They placed 10th in the nation and received a silver medal. Trent Sumner and Kobe Roe placed 7th in the nation in the junior division of the Environmental Science category and received a silver medal for their efforts. Landon McGillvrey and Dylan Robbins competed in the junior team division of the Ag Engineering category where they placed 12th nationally and also received a silver medal.

The Florence FFA Officer Team including Emily Kahnke, Halley Becking, Taylor Knudson, Brooke Thorson, Zach Grygiel, Tanner Flemming, Blair Byer and Patrick Reiter also represented the Florence Chapter at the National Convention.

Ben Hummel of the Florence FFA won first place in Ag Broadcast at the District I Leadership Contest held at the Lake Area Technical Institute. Hummel won the opportunity to compete at the State Leadership Contest in Pierre ton December 9th. Taylor Knudson placed fourth in the job interview contest and is the District alternate for the state event. Emily Kahnke placed fourth in public speaking and was also selected as District I alternate. Taylor Knudson was elected as District I reporter for the 2013-2014 school year. Brooke Thorson, Morgen Bunde, Alec Paulson, and Brianna Flemming also competed for the Florence FFA at the District I leadership contest in job interview, district officer interviews, and creed speaking respectively.

The Florence FFA also held their annual Christmas party for the members and their parents to kick off the month of December. They also installed 13 new members with the greenhand degree ceremony. The new members include Seth Bach, Clay Busskohl, Morgan Busskohl, Brianna Flemming, Allison Grygiel, Evan Hagen, Charlie Kahnke, Will Knudson, Spencer Lindner. Jaycee Moe, Alec Paulson, Chase Peterson, and Tyler Sumner.