Area Wheat Growers member-owners win state honors

Farm Forum

The South Dakota Soybean Association and South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council’s annual South Dakota Soybean Yield and Quality Contest produced several Wheat Growers member-owner winners.

Thirteen Wheat Growers member-owners were given yield honors in this year’s South Dakota soybean and corn contests.

In SD Group 0 Non-Irrigated category, Michael McCranie of Claremont, took third place with a 70.93 bushels-per-acre yield. Matthew McCranie of Claremont, took second place in the SD Group 0 No-Till category with a 70.10 bushels-per-acre yield.

Chris Styles of Brentford took first place in the SD Group I Non-Irrigated with a 77.62 bushels-per-acre yield. Travis Swisher of Groton took third place with a 76.10 bushels-per-acre yield. And Stacy Frericks of Ashton, took third place in the SD Group I No-Till category.

The National Corn Growers Corn Yield Contest produced several Wheat Growers member-owner winners.

In the SD A Non-Irrigated category, Jeff Fliehs of Groton had the highest-ranked yield at 264.18 bushels-per-acre. Fliehs was also mentioned for a yield of 258.47 bushels-per-acre.

Fliehs also did well in the SD A No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated category, with the top two yields of 258.09 and 231.96 bushels-per-acre. Boekelheide & Sons Inc. of Northville took third place with a 229.97 bushels-per-acre yield.

The SD Irrigated category showed two Wheat Growers member-owners with honors. Riverside Farms of Huron took first place with a 293.12 bushels-per-acre yield. Clarence Waldner of Frankfort, took third with a 265.66 bushels-per-acre yield.

In the SD No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated category, Riverside Farms was honored for a yield of 280.66 bushels-per-acre.