SDSA welcomes new board member, elects officers

Farm Forum

SIOUX FALLS — The South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA) welcomes Scott Biskeborn, a farmer from Chamberlain, S.D., to the SDSA board as the 2013 Young Leader Representative. The American Soybean Association/DuPont Young Leader program is designed to develop leadership skills and educate on important issues impacting agriculture today. As part of the Young Leader program, Biskeborn has the opportunity to serve on the SDSA board for one year. Biskeborn raises soybeans, corn, wheat, hay and cattle on his farm. He also holds an associate’s degree in agribusiness from Mitchell Technical Institute and a bachelor’s degree in agronomy from South Dakota State University. Biskeborn’s wife Jennifer, is a schoolteacher in Kimball, and is also active on the farm.

SDSA elected John Horter, a farmer from Andover, S.D., as President and Jerry Schmitz, a farmer from Vermillion, S.D., as Vice President at the SDSA Annual Meeting on Dec. 11.

SDSA also reelected John Krutzfeldt, a farmer from Wolsey, S.D., as Second Vice President. Todd Hanten, a farmer from Goodwin, S.D., was elected for the Treasurer position, and Jon Schaeffer, a farmer from Viborg, S.D., was elected to serve as Secretary.

SDSA is a grassroots, farmer-led organization. Because the soybean checkoff is prohibited by law from lobbying, SDSA works to ensure that sound policies are in place to enhance the future of soybean farming. SDSA works on behalf of its members to positively impact regulatory and legislative issues on a local, state and national level. The organization is governed by a board of 12 volunteer, farmer leaders who are elected by members.

Visit for a complete list of directors and more information about SDSA.