Johnson re-elected NFU president, Donn Teske elected vice president

Farm Forum

Santa Fe, N.M. — Roger Johnson, a third-generation family farmer from Turtle Lake, N.D., was re-elected for another two-year term as president of National Farmers Union (NFU). Johnson was re-elected March 9 by delegates at the family farm organization’s 112th annual state convention held in Santa Fe, N.M. Johnson has served as president of NFU since 2009.

“We are grateful for Roger Johnson’s leadership as president of the family farm organization and look forward to another two years of his presidency,” said SDFU President Doug Sombke. “NFU has seen great success with Johnson as president. He has been a staunch advocate for County-of-Origin Labeling, protecting the family farmer and rancher, and worked tirelessly over the last two years for final passage of the 2014 farm bill.”

Prior to leading the family farm organization, Johnson served as North Dakota Agriculture Commissioner. From 2007-2008, he served as president of the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture. Johnson is also past president of the Midwestern Association of State Departments of Agriculture, past president of the Food Export Association of the Midwest, and a former chairman of the Interstate Pest Control Compact.

Donn Teske, a fifth-generation family farmer from Wheaton, Kan., was elected to his first-term as vice president.

“On behalf of South Dakota Farmers Union we offer our congratulations and support to Donn Teske as he begins his first term as vice president,” said Sombke. “Teske has demonstrated great leadership as both our national treasurer and president of Kansas Farmers Union. I know he will continue the tradition of great leadership that we have at National Farmers Union.”

Donn Teske has served as the Kansas Farmers Union president for 13 years and as NFU treasurer for three years. Teske farms in Northeastern Kansas raising soybeans, grain sorghum, red clover, wheat, oats, and operative a cow/calf beef operation. He currently serves on the Kansas Rural Center Board of Directors, Kansas North Central Region SARE Advisory Board, Kansas Graziers Association Executive Board, Farmer Veteran Coalition Executive Board, and as chairman of the Midwest Agency Insurance Board of Directors Investments Committee.