ASA honors David Womack for lifetime achievement

Farm Forum

The American Soybean Association (ASA) recognized David Womack from Shelbyville, Tenn., with its Lifetime Achievement Award — Association Focus at its annual awards banquet at the 2014 Commodity Classic in San Antonio, Texas. The award honors individuals who have provided outstanding leadership and dedication to ASA and helped further the interests of soybean farmers.

Womack has been involved in the state and national soybean organizations for more than 30 years. Womack held leadership positions in ASA, was a founding member of the United Soybean Board (USB) and the last president of the American Soybean Development Foundation.

“In my opinion, you couldn’t find a more deserving and qualified individual who has committed more than Mr. Womack to serving the Tennessee and American soybean associations and to improving the standing of soybean producers everywhere,” said Julius Johnson, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Agriculture in his letter of recommendation for Womack.

Womack also served on the National Biodiesel Board (NBB), Tennessee Soybean Association (TSA) and Tennessee Soybean Producers Board (TSPB).