S.D. FFA Stars awarded for outstanding projects

Farm Forum

BROOKINGS – Five South Dakota FFA members were awarded with the South Dakota FFA Association Star Awards for project excellence at the 86th South Dakota State FFA Convention in Brookings, S.D., on April 6-8, 2014.

The South Dakota FFA Star Awards recognize FFA members who have demonstrated exemplary work in their Supervised Agricultural Experience (internship) programs. Through their Supervised Agricultural Experience, these FFA members have mastered skills in agriculture production, finance, management and research.

After an extensive review of their Supervised Agricultural Experience program and records, 25 FFA members were selected as South Dakota’s finalists for State Star Farmer, Star in Agribusiness, Star in Ag Placement, Star in Agriscience and Star Greenhand. The finalists also discussed their projects in an oral interview with a panel of industry judges. The results are as follows:

State Star Farmer (sponsored by Farm Credit Services of America): Abby Repenning, Mitchell

Finalists: Brandon Jacobson, Howard; Nick Pardy, Howard; Taylor Sinkie, Wessington Springs

Star in Agribusiness (sponsored by Farm Credit Services of America): Derek Hight, Viborg-Hurley

Finalists: Skylar Mix, Arlington; Shane Mueller, Garretson; Benjamin Snyders, McCook Central

Star in Ag Placement (sponsored by the Dan Streff Family): Brandon Schwader, Howard

Finalists: Cooper Eliason, Howard; Andrew Hoffman, Mitchell; Katelynd Whitehead, Lennox-Sundstrom

Star in Agriscience (sponsored by Verity Farms): Craig Reiter, Florence

Finalists: Halley Becking, Florence; Tyler Bowen, Harrisburg; Emily Kahnke, Florence

Star Greenhand (sponsored by Central Farmers Cooperative): Andrew Streff, McCook Central

Finalists: Collin Anson, Wessington Springs; Clayton Keck, Miller; Jaclynn Knutson, Viborg-Hurley