Florence FFA awards year-end honors at annual banquet

Farm Forum

Halley Becking, Emily Kahnke, and Craig Reiter, all seniors at Florence High School, were named the 2014 recipients of the DeKalb Award which is given to the senior or seniors with the outstanding supervised agricultural experience (SAE) program and FFA involvement for the Florence FFA Chapter. Halley received her state FFA degree based on her cow/calf production SAE. She currently has 14 cow/calf pairs in his beef production operation. Emily received her state degree based on her forage production SAE and plant systems agriscience research program. Craig received his degree based on his agriscience research SAE program and landscape management placement program. All three members have served as chapter officers and have a long list of local and state FFA activities and accomplishments.

The Florence Chapter awarded their annual star chapter awards. Craig Reiter was named Chapter Star in Agriscience, Halley Becking was named Chapter Star Farmer, and Zach Grygiel was named Chapter Star in Agricultural Placement. The final star award went to Chase Peterson, who was named Star Chapter Greenhand. Chase received the Tory Sumner Memorial Greenhand Award.

Sheri Kahnke, quality control director for Davisco Foods of Lake Norden was the guest speaker for the banquet. She spoke of the many opportunities available for jobs in the agricultural industry in light of the world’s rapidly expanding population. She spoke of the importance of the members involvement in leadership development available.

A number of chapter members were recognized for their accomplishments in their supervised ag experience projects when they were awarded chapter proficiency medals. Proficiency winners included Craig Reiter, Emily Kahnke, Ben Hummel, and Taylor Knudson, agriscience research award; Tanner Flemming and Trent Sumner, ag mechanics repair & maintenance; Landon McGillvrey, ag mechanics design & fabrication; Javen Moe, diversified crop production; Tanner Flemming and Nathan Flemming, beef production; Zach Grygiel, emerging ag technologies and diversified agricultural production; Anthony Goldade, food science; Craig Reiter, turf management; Morgen Bunde, diversified livestock production; Brooke Thorson, grain production; Emily Kahnke, forage production; Patrick Reiter, landscape management; Alec Paulson, creed speaking; Briana Flemming, public speaking; Dylan Robbins, outdoor recreation; Sammie Popham, specialty animal production; Kristen Roe, sheep production; and Emily Kahnke, veterinary science.

The chapter awarded the scholarship award to members who have attained the honor roll 2 of the last 3 nine weeks. They included Halley Becking, Zach Grygiel, Emily Kahnke, and Craig Reiter, seniors; Ben Hummel, Taylor Knudson, Patrick Reiter, and Brooke Thorson, juniors; Morgen Bunde, Josh Grode, Hannah Hintz, Mace Huffman, and Wyat Sprung, sophomores; Seth Bach, Clay Busskohl, Briana Flemming, Allison Grygiel, Charlie Kahnke, Will Knudson, Spencer Lindner, Alec Paulson, Chase Peterson, and Tyler Sumner, freshmen; and Callie Flemming, Nathan Hulscher, Evie Kahnke, Chantel Nelson, Kylie Randall, and Bryan Reiter, eighth graders. Chapter degrees were awarded to Morgen Bunde, Tylar Cole, Nathan Flemming, Josh Grode, Hannah Hintz, Mayce Huffman, Landon McGillvrey, Javen Moe, Dylan Robbins, Kobe Roe, Wyat Sprung, Ryan Stevens, and Trent Sumner.

State FFA Degree plaques were presented to Halley Becking, Blair Byer, Zach Grygiel, Emily Kahnke, and Craig Reiter, 2014 state degree recipients from the chapter. Will Knudson,Seth Bach, Tyler Sumner, Taylor Knudson, Craig Reiter, Patrick Reiter, Briana Flemming, Allison Grygiel, Brooke Thorson, Spencer Lindner, Clay Busskohl, Chase Peterson, Landon McGillvrey, Dylan Robbins, Wyat Sprung, Morgan Busskohl and Jacey Moe were awarded gold medals for placing first in their respective divisions in the State FFA Agriscience Fair. Emily Kahnke and Zach Grygiel were presented silver medals for their placing in the state Veterinary Science and Horse Evaluation CDE’s respectively, while Taylor Knudson and Charlie Kahnke were presented bronze medals for their placing in the state dairy foods and livestock evaluation CDE’s respectively

The new chapter officers for the 2014-2015 school year include Tanner Flemming, president; Riley Gilbertson, vice president; Brooke Thorson, secretary; Taylor Knudson, treasurer; Morgen Bunde, reporter; Alec Paulson, sentinel; Hannah Hintz, student advisor, Allison Grygiel, parliamentarian; and Charlie Kahnke, historian.