Mountrail, Ward teams win N.D. 4-H Meat Judging Contest

Farm Forum

The team from Mountrail County placed first in the senior division of the state 4-H meat judging contest held recently at North Dakota State University.

Team members are Myles Odermann, Jonathan Rosencrans, Michelle Risan, Dylan Enger, Haley Goodall and Daniel Bolen. Odermann was the high individual in the contest.

The meat judging contest included identification of retail cuts, six classes of carcasses or retail cuts, and oral reasons or questions on three of the classes.

The second-place senior team from Stark-Billings counties consisted of Wyatt Schulte, Marissa Tuhy, Caden Tuhy and Sam Poland.

The Pierce County team of Devon Volk, Josh Pfeifer and Alex Hoffert placed third in the senior division.

The team representing Ward County placed first in the intermediate division. Team members are Jacob Scheresky, Thomas Schauer and Matthew Schauer. Scheresky was the high individual in the intermediate division.

The Walsh County team of Sara Hodek, Rachel Klose and Eva Sobak placed second in the intermediate division.

The North Dakota Beef Commission, NDSU Animal Sciences Department and North Dakota 4-H Foundation are the sponsors for this contest. The contest was organized by Robert Maddock, NDSU Extension Service meats specialist, and Gary Martens, 4-H volunteer.