41 SD FFA members earn the golden key

Farm Forum

Forty-one South Dakota FFA members received the coveted gold American Degree key, the highest degree awarded by the National FFA Organization. This final step in the FFA Degree system encourages students to grow, achieve, and establish themselves in an agricultural career. Attaining the American FFA Degree requires a solid commitment to agriculture and FFA. This honor recognizes demonstrated leadership abilities and outstanding achievements in agricultural business, production, processing and service programs. Recipients must have earned $7,500 through a supervised agricultural experience program and productively invested those earnings.

Only about one half of one percent of the total national membership attains this high honor. The recipients were honored at a reception on Nov. 1 at the 87th National FFA Convention in Louisville, KY. South Dakota’s gold key recipients included:

Clay Abrahamson, De Smet

Taylin Albrecht, De Smet

Zachary Bies, McCook Central

Kallan Christman, Clark

Tyler Derouchey, Hoven

Cheyenne Edmundson, Garretson

Matt Eichacker, McCook Central

Seth Engen, Viborg-Hurley

Anthony Even, West Central

Abigail Flanders, Harrisburg

Justin Halse, Florence

Reid Kaiser, Hoven

Alysha Kientopf, Garretson

Natasha Krempges, McCook Central

Jorry Lammers, West Central

Austin Larson, De Smet

Shala Larson, Webster

Cole Lauck, McCook Central

Anthony Lueth, West Central

Stefani Matthies, McCook Central

Jason Mehlhaf, Menno

Ellen Minihan, Brandon Valley

Nicholas Mueller, Garretson

Melissa Nelson, McCook Central

Brandi Niedert, Milbank

Gerrit Pearson, West Central

Lacey Quail, Deubrook

Brandon Reif, McCook Central

Courtney Rickett, Harrisburg

Samantha Rothschadl, Viborg-Hurley

Emily Schallenkamp, McCook Central

Maty Skinner, West Central

Jean Skoglund, McCook Central

Lexi Slack, Viborg-Hurley

Krista Smit, Lennox Sundstrom

Audrey Souza, Milbank

Ashley Tonak, Willow Lake

Logan Tonak, Willow Lake

Ethan VanderWal, Sioux Valley

Beau Wensing, Florence

Cordell Wobig, McCook Central