New chairman elected to keep moving soy checkoff forward

Farm Forum

ST. LOUIS – Bob Haselwood, soybean farmer from Berryton, Kansas, has been elected by his fellow United Soybean Board (USB) farmer-directors to lead the board in investing soy checkoff funds for the next year. In addition to the support from the other 69 farmer leaders, Haselwood also has the input from the recently held 2014 CONNECTIONS meeting to help guide him.

“Having the feedback from the industry-wide CONNECTIONS meeting really helps us as farmer-directors to lay a path for the future of this organization,” says Haselwood. “And in addition to that, I’ve got a great group to help me lead this board, and we’re excited to get to work.”

The following farmer-leaders will be joining Haselwood on the executive committee to oversee USB’s profit-building projects:

• Vice Chairman: Jared Hagert, Emerado, North Dakota

• Secretary: Dwain Ford, Kinmundy, Illinois

• Treasurer: John Motter, Jenera, Ohio

• Meal Action Team Chair: Laura Foell, Schaller, Iowa

• Oil Action Team Chair: Jimmy Sneed, Hernando, Mississippi

• Freedom to Operate Action Team Chair: Bill Beam, Elverson, Pennsylvania

• Customer Focus Action Team Chair: John Dodson, Halls, Tennessee

• International Opportunities Target Area Coordinator: Dwain Ford, Kinmundy, Illinois

• Domestic Opportunities Target Area Coordinator: Lewis Bainbridge, Ethan, South Dakota

• Communications Target Area Coordinator: Nancy Kavazanjian, Beaver Dam, Wisconsin

• Past Chairman: Jim Call, Madison, Minnesota

Additionally, Nebraska farmer Gregg Fujan will serve as Supply Target Area coordinator. Keith Tapp, from Kentucky, will serve as Audit & Evaluation Committee chair.

Members of the Strategic Management Committee (SMC) will continue to keep the checkoff’s strategic goals at the forefront. Farmer-leaders who will serve on the SMC include:

• Jared Hagert, Emerado, North Dakota

• Jim Call, Madison, Minnesota

• Mike Beard, Frankfort, Indiana

• Larry Marek, Riverside, Iowa

• Ron Ohlde, Palmer, Kansas

• John Motter, Jenera, Ohio

In addition to electing a new slate of officers, 19 checkoff farmer-leaders were sworn in. Five of these directors are new to the board, with 14 returning.

The 70 farmer-directors of USB oversee the investments of the soy checkoff to maximize profit opportunities for all U.S. soybean farmers. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds to increase the value of U.S. soy meal and oil, to ensure U.S. soybean farmers and their customers have the freedom and infrastructure to operate, and to meet the needs of U.S. soy’s customers. As stipulated in the federal Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight responsibilities for USB and the soy checkoff.

For more information on the United Soybean Board, visit