Gov. announces new and reappointed State Brand Board members

Farm Forum

PIERRE, S.D. – Gov. Dennis Daugaard has appointed Myron Williams of Wall and reappointed Bart Blum of Reliance to the State Brand Board. Williams fills the board position vacated by Curt Mortenson of Fort Pierre which expired Jan. 5, 2015. Blum has served on the board since 2004.

Presently, Williams serves as president for the Association of National Grasslands and serves on the South Dakota Ag Rural Leadership (SDARL) Board of Directors. In 2007, he was named the South Dakota State University (SDSU) Eminent Farmer. Williams earned a bachelor’s degree in Animal and Range Science from SDSU.

“Myron brings a wealth of experience to the Brand Board including national, state and local cattle industry involvement,” said South Dakota Secretary of Agriculture Lucas Lentsch. “His background as a cow-calf producer and livestock buyer will serve the board well.”

Bart Blum has served as president of the South Dakota Stockgrowers’ Association, is a member of the South Dakota Cattlemen’s Association and has served on the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association Board of Directors. Blum and his wife were selected as the SDSU Friends of the Beef Industry in 1999.

“Bart has been an excellent Brand Board member for the last several years,” said Secretary Lentsch. “I appreciate his willingness to serve another term.”

Williams and Blum will serve with three others appointed by the Governor. Their terms will last three years. For more information on the State Brand Board, please visit or