South Dakota Farm Bureau recognized for membership growth

Farm Forum

Huron, S.D. – Members of the South Dakota Farm Bureau participated in the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 96th annual meeting recently in San Diego, Calif., and brought home a special membership award for the state.

South Dakota Farm Bureau (SDFB) received the Navigator Award from the national organization in recognition of exceptional membership growth. South Dakota Farm Bureau reached 106 percent of its state membership goal in 2014, with membership in the state of 14,317 Farm Bureau member families.

Additionally, Scott VanderWal, President of the South Dakota Farm Bureau and a third-generation farmer from Volga, S.D., continues to represent the Midwest Region on the American Farm Bureau Board of Directors. Travis Gebhart, a young rancher from Meadow, S.D., currently serves as the Vice Chair of the AFBF Young Farmer & Rancher Committee. He and his wife, Renae, were elected to serve on the national YF&R Committee in 2013 and will complete their service in February.

South Dakota Farm Bureau’s delegates were Scott VanderWal and Wanda Blair, a rancher from Vale, S.D. who serves as Vice President of the state organization. Alternates were Richard Vasgaard of Centerville, S.D., and Larry Stomprud from Faith, S.D.

Farm Bureau is the largest general farm organization, with more than 14,000 member families in South Dakota, and more than 6 million member families nationwide.