South Dakota Pork Producers Council announces its 2015 award recipients.

Farm Forum

SIOUX FALLS, SD – The South Dakota Pork Producers Council (SDPPC) recognized several outstanding individuals, organizations and businesses for their dedication to the pork industry on January 15, 2015 during their 46th Annual Pork Congress at the Sioux Falls Ramkota Hotel & Exhibit Hall.

Dr. Bob Thaler, Extension Swine Specialist & Professor at SDSU received the Pork All-American award for 2015. This award acknowledges individuals who have established themselves as dedicated, involved business people and leaders in their communities.

Each year the South Dakota Pork Producers Council (SDPPC) recognizes restaurant owners and managers for their efforts in preparing and promoting quality pork products. This year Tally’s Silver Spoon of Rapid City received the Restaurant of the Year Award.

Brad Hohn with MDS Manufacturing was honored with the 2015 Friends of the Industry Award. This award recognizes state individuals, leaders or businesses for their continued support of the pork industry. The recipient will be given a plaque and check for their outstanding involvement and service to the pork industry.

The South Dakota Pork Producers Council awarded both Jacob Brandt of Clear Lake, South Dakota and Noah Thaler of Brookings, South Dakota each with a $1,000 scholarship.

The South Dakota Youth Pork Ambassador Program is designed to provide youth with an opportunity to become actively involved in the pork industry. The program helps youth develop strong relationships with both pork producers and allied industry members. It is an opportunity to learn about pork production and the industry and to improve communication and leadership skills. The main goal of the Youth Pork Ambassador program is to promote the South Dakota Pork Producers Council and the swine industry at various events. Brandt and Thaler will gain valuable experience and develop relationships that will last a lifetime.

The 2015 Family of the Year award was given to the Odegaard Family of Lake Preston, South Dakota. This is the 1st year this award has been presented to a family and goes to those demonstrating outstanding service and dedication to the pork industry in South Dakota.

Dave Uttecht of Huron received the Dedicated and Distinguished Service award for 2014, for his years of service and dedication to the pork industry.

Another new award given out this year at the 46th Annual Pork Congress was for Pork Promoter of the Year. The recipient of this first time award was Brad and Peggy Greenway of Mitchell, South Dakota. This award is presented to an individual or group who has given outstanding media coverage to pork industry news and events in South Dakota.