National FFA Organization names 50 individuals as 2015 New Century Farmers

Farm Forum

INDIANAPOLIS – The National FFA Organization has selected 50 outstanding young people to participate in the 2015 New Century Farmer program. This exclusive, highly competitive program develops young men and women committed to pursuing a career in production agriculture.

Participants representing 50 states will take part in an intensive seminar July 12-18 in Johnstown, Iowa. They will learn from each other and industry experts during a series of workshops and sessions. Topics will include the global marketplace, farm financing, demographic trends and risk management. New Century Farmers will hear from motivating and informative keynote speakers who will educate them on the risk and rewards involved with production agriculture. In addition to classroom learning, students will experience the latest developments in agricultural technology.

The New Century Farmer program is sponsored by DuPont Pioneer; Case IH; CSX Corporation; and Farm Credit with media partner Successful Farming as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. The program is designed to provide participants with valuable skills and knowledge applicable to their own farming operations. In addition, they will build a network of colleagues that will benefit them throughout their careers.

The 2015 New Century Farmers are:

California: Erica Larson of Sonoma; Cassidy Steenbock of Romoland

Iowa: Geordan Hanson of Elgin Iowa

Idaho: Kellsie Hodges of Salmon

Illinois: Patrick King of Oneida

Indiana: Jared Baird of Scottsburg, Mallarie Stookey of Milford

Kansas: A.J. Carlson of Clay Center

Massachusetts: Brianna Mann of Stoneham

Maryland: Jordan Borkoski of Baltimore; Dalton Clabaugh of Keymar

Michigan: Dalton Hard of Quincy; Ethan Haywood of Hastings

Minnesota: Jack Chisholm of Gary; Sam Mellgren of Cologne; Brett Petersen of Murdock

Missouri: Monica Campen of Canton; Emilee Haubner of Auxvasse; Cody Jones of Fulton; Jade Morgan of Lamar

Montana: Cali Christensen of Big Timber

North Carolina: Harrison Jenkins of Stony Point; Cara Ruth Pace of Clayton

North Dakota: Justin Bartholomay of Sheldon; Kady Rath of McClusky; Joshua Stutrud of Barton; Brandon Weber of Thompson; Verlin Zacharias of Kathryn; Donovan Zacharias of Kathryn

New York: Logan Martin of Salamanca; Ryker Smith of Manilius

Ohio: Ryan Goddard of Urbana; Logan Russell of Wapakoneta; Ryan Schwyn of Marysville; D.J. Steele of Amanda; Lee Turner of Waynesfield; Ashley Vogt of Shelby; Ryan Walker of Houston

South Dakota: Adam Krause of Clear Lake; Tara Parmely of Miller

Utah: Calee Lott of Oakley

Virginia: Cole Ramsey of Waynesboro

Washington: Tanner White of Prosser; Olivia Zurcher of Mesa

Wisconsin: Brad Jaeger of Newton; Jackson Remer of Omro; Austin Sprecher of Sauk City; Aaron Zimmerman of Spencer

The National FFA Organization provides leadership, personal growth and career success training through agricultural education to 610,240 student members who belong to one of 7,665 local FFA chapters throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.