Investing in angus youth education

Farm Forum

Education continues to be at the forefront of the Angus Foundation’s mission, and through the years the organization has continued to expand its support given to Angus youth toward their dreams of higher education. This year at the National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) in Tulsa, Okla., more than 100 scholarships were presented to undergraduate and graduate students, totaling more than $215,000 invested in the agriculture industry’s future.

“The Angus Foundation is committed to providing more dollars to Angus youth and their education,” says Milford Jenkins, Angus Foundation president. “Without the generous donations of Angus supporters who establish endowments and provide unrestricted funds through the Angus Foundation, our scholarship program wouldn’t be as successful as it is today.”

A five-member committee evaluates each scholarship application submitted to the Angus Foundation and considers National Junior Angus Association (NJAA) involvement, state junior association participation, leadership and other criteria. Since 1998, the Angus Foundation has awarded more than $2.3 million in undergraduate and graduate scholarships to Angus youth.

The 2015 scholarships recipients were recognized in the NJAS showring July 16-17, where a near-record number of Angus cattle and NJAA members competed in the national event. Visit for more news and highlights from the 2015 NJAS.

A complete list of scholarship winners follows.

Undergraduate Angus Foundation General Scholarship — $1,000

Joseph Adams, Union Springs, Ala.; Mark Alexander, Berryville, Va.; Jayne Bannister, Kent, N.Y.; Jordan Barker, Monticello, Iowa; Nancy Ann Bickham, Saint Francisville, La.; Eric Blythe, White City, Kan.; Cody Boden, Clear Brook, Va.; Beau Bromenshenk, Billings, Mont.; Jaden Carlson, Pipestone, Minn.; Laramie Chaffin, Roodhouse, Ill.; Taylor Clarke, Rocky Ridge, Md.; Taylor Duckett, New Liberty, Iowa; Chelsey Figge, Onaga, Kan.; Megan Green, Leavenworth, Kan.; Lee Hymel, Vacherie, La.; Michelle Keyes, Springfield, Neb.; Stephanie Lastovica, Salado, Texas; Reid McGuire, Waverly, Ala.; Matthew Mitchell, Reinholds, Pa.; Hannah Moyer, Lamar, Mo.; Robert Nixon III, Rapidan, Va.; Mary Ali Oliver, Union City, Tenn.; Connor Orrock, Woodford, Va.; John Reasor, Wildwood, Ga.; Lawson Rowlett, Hurricane Mills, Tenn.; Savannah Schafer, Nehawka, Neb.; Eric Shoop, Dalmatia, Pa.; Tyler Steele, Anita, Iowa; Carly Watt, Iva, S.C.; and Courtney Younge, Ventura, Iowa.

Undergraduate Angus Foundation General Scholarship — $3,000

Trenton Blythe, White City, Kan.; Michaela Clowser, Milford, Neb.; Corbin Cowles, Rockfield, Ky.; Ashley Cox, Eagle Point, Ore.; Will Harsh, Radnor, Ohio; Allison Hawthorne, Westby, Wis.; Braden Henricks, Anadarko, Okla.; Katelyn Holmes, Benton, Iowa; Chris Kahlenbeck, Union, Mo.; Kyle Livingston, Dover, Pa.; Reed McCormick, Pleasantville, Iowa; Isaac McFarland, Keithville, La.; Ruth Ann Myers, Harrodsburg, Ky.; Karisa Pfeiffer, Orlando, Okla.; Jera Pipkin, Republic, Mo.; Matt Purfeerst, Faribault, Minn.; Emily Stovall, Corsicana, Texas; Haley Throne, Lexington, Ga.; Sydney Thummel, Sheridan, Mo.; and Jordyn Wagner, Billings, Mont.

Graduate Angus Foundation General Scholarship — $5,000

Allison Dubs, Billings, Mont.; Maggie Jasper, Versailles, Ky.; Kassandra Pfeiffer, Orlando, Okla.; Katy Satree, Montague, Texas; and Lindsay Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa.

2012 NJAS – In A League of their Own — $500

Ruth Ann Myers, Harrodsburg, Ky.; Shyla Kreager, Newark, Ohio; Mary Ali Oliver, Union City, Tenn.; and Lawson Rowlett, Hurricane Mills, Tenn.

Arkansas Angus Auxiliary — $500

Will Pohlman, Prairie Grove, Ark.

Jean Ann (Neumeyer) Bojorquez Memorial, and Robert and Hollyce Neumeyer Angus Scholarship — $500

Ashley Cox, Eagle Point, Ore.

C.L. Cook Angus Scholarship Endowment Fund — $500

Taylor Gazda, Athens, Ga.

Certified Angus Beef/National Junior Angus Association — $1,000

Will Pohlman, Prairie Grove, Ark.

Oliver A. Hansen/Laudemere Farm — $500

Lauren Barker, Monticello, Iowa

James and Mary Lou Henderson/Bradley 3 Ranch Angus Scholarship — $500

Robert Dolson, Hico, Texas

Howard and Joanne Hillman/Bon View Farms Angus Scholarship — $1,000

Tara Leytham, Toledo, Iowa

James E Horton, Jr. Angus Scholarship — $1,500

Joseph Adams, Union City, Ala.

Iowa Junior Angus Association Scholarship — $500

Sydney Younge, Ventura, Iowa – State recipient

Katlyn Tunstill, Fayetteville, Ark. – National recipient

Kansas Angus Association Scholarship — $1,000

Evan Woodbury, Quenemo, Kan.

Gordon and Robin Keys and Family Angus Scholarship Endowment Funds — $1,000

Taylor Clarke, Rocky Ridge, Md. – Maryland recipient

Elizabeth Nixon, Rapidan, Va. – Virginia recipient

Ed and Wilma Minix/Blackwitch Angus Farm Scholarship — $2,500

Jena Wagner, Billings, Mont.

Montana Angus Youth Scholarship — $1,500

Jena Wagner, Billings, Mont.

NJAA Alumni and Friends Scholarship — $1,500

Morgan Alexander, Berryville, Va.

Mack C. Olson Memorial Angus Scholarship — $500

Jordyn Wagner, Billings, Mont.

Pennsylvania Angus Youth Undergraduate Scholarship — $500

Andrea Foore, Seven Valleys, Pa.

Roscoe L. Richardson Memorial Scholarship Endowment Fund — $500

Emily Velisek, Gaithersburg, Md.

John Rucker Family Angus Scholarship — $1,000

Cody Boden, Clear Brook, Va.

Joseph and Ruby Schaff/Schaff Angus Ranch Scholarship — $500

Audra Montgomery, Carrington, N.D.

Ray Sims Angus Scholarship — $1,000

Evan Woodbury, Quenemo, Kan.

Angus Foundation Richard L. Spader Scholarships — $5,000

Alexis Cash, York, Pa.; and Jackson Wingert, Ottawa, Kan.

Angus/Talon Youth Educational Learning Program Undergraduate Scholarships — $5,000

Madison Butler, Vincennes, Ind.; Michael Cropp, Damascus, Md.; Macy Perry, Prather, Calif.; Cheyenne Jones, Franklinton, La.; Maci Lienemann, Princeton, Neb.; Esther McCabe, Elk City, Kan.; Will Pohlman, Prairie Grove, Ark.; Alex Rogen, Brandon, S.D.; Cooper Sadowsky, Eagleville, Mo.; and Cody Theis, Leavenworth, Kan.

Angus/Talon Youth Educational Learning Program Graduate Scholarship — $10,000

Bailey Harsh, Radnor, Ohio

Texas Angus Association “Texas Challenge” Scholarship — $1,000

Robert Dolson, Hico, Texas; Stephanie Lastovica, Salado, Texas; Emily Stovall, Corsicana, Texas; Brazos Williams, Rio Vista, Texas; Tylee Jo Williams, Rio Vista, Texas

Vance Uden Memorial Scholarship — $1,000

Corbin Yon, Ridge Springs, S.C.

Cory Watt Memorial Scholarship Endowment Fund — $1,500

Carly Watt, Iva, S.C.

Western States National Junior Angus Show Fund Scholarship — $500

J.D. Rosman, Creston, Wash.

Woodlawn Farms Angus Scholarship — $1,250

Brazos Williams, Rio Vista, Texas

Gary Brost LEAD Award

Madison Butler, Vincennes, Ind.; Laramie Chaffin, Roodhouse, Ill.; and Brooke Langley, Walton, Ind.

Chambers LEAD Awards

Madison Cox, Eagle Point, Ore.

Stan Prox Memorial LEAD Award

Chase Anderson, Chrisman, Ill.

Gary M. Stoller Jump Start Your LEAD Award

Reagan Skow, Palisade, Neb.