North Dakota Stockmen’s Foundation names eight scholarship recipients

Farm Forum

The North Dakota Stockmen’s Foundation (NDSF) named eight young leaders in North Dakota agriculture as 2015 Stockmen’s Foundation scholarship winners.

NDSF President Jason Zahn presented the awards to this year’s winners during the North Dakota Stockmen’s Association’s (NDSA) 86th Annual Convention & Trade Show, “Here for the Long Haul,” Sept. 26 in Bismarck, N.D.

The NDSF awarded four $500 Legacy scholarships to Shane Giedd of Washburn, Stacia Hopfauf Mandan, Kacey Koester of Steele and Renae Tokach of St. Anthony; a $500 Junior Scholarship to Jacob Lardy of West Fargo; a $500 Endowment scholarship to Emily Hauck; a $500 Tokach Angus Ranch Memorial Scholarship to Mariah Jacobs of Noonan; and a $750 Jack and Vander Rieich Memorial Endowment Scholarship to Corey Schafer of New Rockford.

Geidd is the son of Mark and Wanda Giedd. He served as the president of the Washburn FFA chapter, was heavily involved in 4-H and served as student body president of his high school class. Giedd volunteers his time with the Dollars for Scholars program and local Meals on Wheels program. He is majoring in animal science at North Dakota State University (NDSU). After graduation, he plans to return to his family’s operation to expand the family’s feedlot and start an annual production sale.

Hopfauf is the daughter of Blaine and Tammy Hopfauf. She served as the reporter for the Mandan FFA Chapter and participated in National Honor Society. She is majoring in animal science at NDSU. After graduation, she plans to pursue a career in veterinary medicine.

Koester is the daughter of Steve and Tracey Koester. She served as president of the Kidder County FFA chapter, senior class president and as an active member of Student Council. Koester is majoring in animal science at NDSU. Koester currently serves as a junior director for the National Junior Red Angus Association. After graduation, she plans to pursue a career in beef genetics or reproduction.

Tokach is the daughter of Richard and Kathy Tokach. In her time at Kansas State University, she was involved in the Block and Bridle club, the Collegiate CattleWomen, Sigma Alpha Professional Agriculture Sorority, Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow and the College of Agriculture Student Council. In her junior year, Tokach is majoring in animal sciences and agricultural communications at NDSU. After graduation, she plans to pursue a career in agricultural communications with a livestock organization or agribusiness.

Lardy is the son of Greg and Lynae Lardy. He is a member of the Society for Range Management and an active member of the Saddle and Sirloin Club at NDSU. Lardy is majoring in range science and minoring in animal science at NDSU. After graduation, he plans to pursue a career in range management, researching the effect of oilfield work on native rangelands.

Hauck is the daughter of Keith and Janell Hauck. She served as president of Student Council and her FFA chapter. Hauck is majoring in animal science and agricultural education at NDSU. After graduation, she plans to continue raising her herd of commercial SimAngus cattle and to pursue a career in ag education.

Jacobs is the daughter of Greg and London Jacobs. In her time at NDSU, she worked at the NDSU Beef Unit, participated in the Pre-Vet Club and the Collegiate CattleWomen. She majored in animal science at NDSU and is now pursuing her doctor of veterinary medicine degree at Iowa State University. After graduation, she plans to move back to western North Dakota to take over her family’s veterinary practice.

Shafer is the son of Jeff and Leann Schafer. He participated in several organizations at Sheyenne High School including Student Council, FFA and 4-H. Schafer is majoring in farm and ranch management at Bismarck State College. After graduation, he plans to continue the growth of his cowherd along with his father. He also plans to implement artificial insemination practices in his operation.

The NDSF is offering scholarships again in 2016. For more information visit The scholarship application deadline is March 1.