LPC selects four finalists for 2016 Forrest Bassford Student Award

Farm Forum

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Four young agricultural journalists have made the cut for the 2016 Forrest Bassford Student Award competition to be held at the Ag Media Summit in St. Louis, Missouri, July 23–27.

The Livestock Publications Council (LPC) recently announced the four agricultural journalism students that will be rewarded for their excellence, leadership and professionalism with the 2016 Forrest Bassford Student Travel Award. The award, sponsored by Alltech, supports the journalists’ travel fees and participation at the LPC annual convention as well as the 18th annual Ag Media Summit, the largest meeting in the United States for the agricultural industry’s top writers, editors, photographers, publishers and agricultural communication specialists.

“We are excited to partner with Alltech to recognize some of the top upcoming agricultural communicators and provide them opportunities for their future in the industry,” said Julie White, LPC Student Award committee chairperson.

The four finalists are:

• Nora Faris, Concordia, Missouri: Faris is a sophomore at the University of Missouri and is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in science and agricultural journalism.

• Audrey Green, Stockton, Kansas: Green is a senior at Kansas State University and is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in agricultural communications and journalism.

• Chamonix Mejia, Encinal, Texas: Mejia is a junior at Texas Tech University and is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in agricultural communications.

• Tim Taylor, Vinita, Oklahoma: Taylor is a junior at Oklahoma State University and is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in agricultural education and agricultural communications.

During the Ag Media Summit, the travel award winners will need to complete an interview process and submit a portfolio for review. The Forrest Bassford Student Award winner will receive a $2,000 scholarship, and the other three candidates will each receive $750 travel scholarships to attend the convention.

The LPC student award program was started in 1985. Forrest Bassford’s name was appended to the award in 1992 in honor of his contribution to LPC and his particular interest in furthering the award program. Alltech has co-sponsored the award since 2012.

“It is a privilege to once again support this award program as these four young journalists get the opportunity to network and learn from the best in the industry,” said Ann Hess, on-farm communications manager for Alltech. “As livestock and crop production continues to prosper through innovation and technology, we need the next generation of agricultural communicators ready to tell the story to an increasingly consumer-driven marketplace.”