Trevor Schmidt selected as Milbank FFA Chapter President

Farm Forum

Trevor Schmidt has been selected as the 2016-2017 Milbank FFA Chapter President at the Annual FFA Member-Parent Banquet on May 12. The other FFA Senior Chapter officers selected were: Vice Presidents, Magally, Kimberly, Aburto; Secretary, Clarie Mischel; Treasurer, Chase Pinkert; Reporter, Sarah Jarman; Sentinel, Nathan Loutsch; Student Advisor, Kadon Leddy; and Parliamentarian, Andrew Falk.

The following Top Chapter Awards were given out to the following Milbank FFA members.

The Seize the Moment — Justin Maass Award — was awarded to Tera Hanson. The Seize the Moment — Justin Maass Award is voted on by the Milbank FFA members for the FFA member who best represents enthusiasm and dedication for the Milbank FFA Chapter through out the year and is voted on by the Milbank FFA Chapter members. Tera has been the 2015-2016 Milbank FFA Chapter Parliamentarian, attended the National FFA Convention as a delegate. Tera is also a member of the Milbank FFA Floriculture teams that will represent South Dakota at the National FFA Convention. Tera received a plaque and $150 scholarship from the Lynn & Brenda Maass family.

Extra Effort Award was awarded to Kristine Fairchild. This award was given to the Milbank FFA member who does activities and assist with FFA projects/activities throughout the year. Kristine was on the Milbank FFA Marketing team and kept notes on the meetings. Kristine helped and conduct FFA Week activities. Kristine delivered flowers to the FFA Week sponsors. Kristine was the 2015-2016 Milbank FFA Student Advisor.

Member of the Year was awarded to Brianna Schreurs. The Member of the Year is awarded to the FFA member who is the most involved with the Milbank FFA Chapter. Brianna has been involved numerous FFA activities throughout the year. Brianna was the 2015—2016 Milbank FFA Secretary. Brianna participated in FFA Leadership Activities and FFA Production Career Development event, such as the Milk Quality team. Brianna helped younger members preparing for events, planned out FFA Week Activities, sold fruit and attend the National FFA Convention as a member of the South Dakota Food Science team.

Star Greenhand was awarded to Sara Capp. The Star FFA Greenhand is the top award given to a first year FFA member. Sara was a junior FFA officer, attended the State FFA Leadership, member of the Agriculture Issues team and State FFA Convention as a member of the Milbank Food Science team. Sara has sold fruit and been involved in the FFA week activities.

Other Chapter Awards are:

Star Agricultural Placement was awarded to Trevor Schmidt. The FFA Chapter Star Agricultural Placement is awarded to the Milbank FFA member whose main supervised agriculture project is placement at an agricultural business/farm. Trevor’s placement site is at Schuneman Equipment Company. Trevor has been involved in many of the Milbank FFA activities.

Star Farmer was awarded to Will Mischel. The FFA Chapter Star Farmer is awarded to the Milbank FFA member who has a supervised project is production based. Will has a farm production project on his parent farm.

Monsanto Leadership Awards was awarded to Kadon Leddy. The Monsanto Leadership Award is awarded to the Milbank FFA member who has an outstanding record in Supervised Projects, FFA activities and classroom work.

Leadership Award: This is based on FFA members who “step out side of the box” and tried different things and finished the project(s) to the end. Also once started, kept the group going. Kellie Christians, Tanner Kettwig, Chase Pinkert, and Tera Hanson.

Scholarship: Based on Grade point and the member was in the Agriculture Education course the whole year.

• Freshmen: Kendra Schweer

• Sophomore: Cassidy Voeltz

• Junior: Nathan Wiese

• Senior: Dalton Koch

Milbank FFA members that placed at the State FFA Convention were awarded their certificates. The National FFA competing Floriculture team was recognized.

Greenhand Pins was awarded to the first year FFA members and Chapter FFA pins to the second year FFA members.

Milbank FFA Advisor is Jerry Janisch.