SDSRPC elects leadership, welcomes new board members

Farm Forum

The South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council (SDSRPC) elected leadership positions and welcomed two new soybean farmers to their board of directors this month.

Marc Reiner, soybean farmer from Tripp, was reelected as chairman of the board. Reiner is a fifth-generation farmer, and raises soybeans, corn, wheat, alfalfa, beef cattle and hogs on his farm. Reiner has served on the SDSRPC board since 2006, and he is currently the SDSRPC’s representative to the United States Meat Export Federation.

In addition to reelecting Reiner as chairman, the SDSRPC board of directors reelected Matt Bainbridge farmer from Ethan, to serve as vice chairman and elected Todd Hanten, farmer from Goodwin, to serve as secretary/treasurer.

SDSRPC welcomes Dawn Scheier from District 3 and Michael McCranie from District 7 who will begin their three-year terms starting July 1.

Dawn Scheier currently farms full time with her husband Pat in Salem. Scheier Farms is a 4th generation farm where they raise corn and soybeans. Dawn received her education from ISU in animal science and is also a graduate of the South Dakota Ag and Rural Leadership Program. Besides being active on the farm, Dawn has over 23 years of experience working in agriculture businesses outside of the family farm. Some of the positions she has held for agricultural companies include Credit Manager and also National Sales Manager. Dawn has become an active and passionate volunteer with CommonGround, which is a consumer outreach group that helps start conversations about farming and food. Dawn is currently the St. Mary’s Church Alter Society VP, SCW Treasurer, a SD Corn Growers Assn. member, and a SD Soybean Assn. member. Some of her past experiences include 5 years on the Farm Credit Nominating Committee, and serving on the Salem St. Mary’s Church and School Finance Board. She is a strong supporter in value added agriculture and investing in soybean processing and corn ethanol plants.

Michael McCranie is a 4th generation farmer in the Claremont area, farming some of the same land his great grandfather homesteaded in 1881. He and his wife Monica have two sons, Matthew and Mitchell who also actively farm. Michael feels that being a member of and serving on farm organizations is important to the future of agriculture. He is a member of the Claremont United Methodist Church, the South Dakota Corn Growers Association, the South Dakota Soybean Association, the American Soybean Association, South Dakota Farmers Union and the Lower Crow Creek Drainage District. Michael served as a director on the South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council, holding secretary/treasurer, Vice Chairman and Chairman positions. He was also a director on the United Soybean Board serving on the Domestic Marketing Committee and as Vice Chair of the International Marketing Committee and a director on the National Biodiesel Board where he was Chairman of the Research Committee which worked to get soydiesel approved as a fuel and also as a renewable fuel under the RFS.

Stan Hanson, soybean farmer from Garretson, and Monica McCranie, soybean farmer from Claremont recently completed their service on the SDSRPC board of directors. We cannot thank them enough for their time and hard work over the past nine years. Their dedication and commitment to the soybean industry was instrumental to the South Dakota Soybean organization and the soy checkoff. They will be missed!