Forty-two Angus Juniors receive the elite Gold Award

Farm Forum

The National Junior Angus Association (NJAA) recently recognized 42 outstanding NJAA members as recipients of the Gold Award during the 2016 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) in Grand Island, Neb.

To receive the Gold Award, members must earn their Bronze and Silver Awards through the National Junior Recognition Program (NJRP) by earning a total of 1,000 points toward each award. This means they must have accumulated 3,000 points over their junior careers. Points can be earned by participating in junior activities, performance testing, production and merchandising of Angus cattle, or via other beef industry activities.

Established more than 40 years ago, the NJRP was designed to help recognize juniors who went above and beyond in their success within the Angus breed.

“There are more than 5,000 active juniors within the Angus breed, and these are the members who have been exceptionally involved and dedicated to the NJAA,” says Jaclyn Clark, American Angus Association director of events and education.

2016 Gold Award recipients are: Morgan Alexander, Berryville, Va.; Jordan Barker, Monticello, Iowa; Nancy Bickham, Saint Francisville, La.; Madison Butler, Vincennes, Ind.; Jaden Carlson, Pipestone, Minn.; Alexis Cash, York, Pa.; Taylor Clarke, Rocky Ridge, Md.; Michaela Clowser, Milford, Neb.; Aliesha Dethlefs, North Platte, Neb.; Brittany Eagleburger, Buffalo, Mo.; Kaitlin Fouts, London, Ky.; Joezell Fulbright, Vale, N.C.; Kylee Geppert, Mitchell, S.D.; Brooke Haas, Downs, Ill.; Will Harsh, Radnor, Ohio; Catherine Harward, Richfield, N.C.; Tanner Hash, Archer City, Texas; Shane Heizer, Hagerstown, Md.; Braden Henricks, Anadarko, Okla.; Victoria Hernandez, Wellington, Fla.; Christopher Kahlenbeck, Union, Mo.; Andrew Livingston, Nokomis, Ill.; Hannah Moyer, Lamar, Mo.; Destiny McCauley, Cynthiana, Ky.; Reed McCormick, Pleasantville, Iowa; Ashley McEwen, Bushnell, Ill.; Clay McGuire, Waverly, Ala.; Kerrie Miller, Wapakoneta, Ohio; Matthew Mitchell, Reinholds, Pa.; Christina Mogck, Olivet, S.D.; Audra Montgomery, Carrington, N.D.; Connor Orrock, Woodford, Va.; Karisa Pfeiffer, Orlando, Okla.; Will Pohlman II, Prairie Grove, Ark.; Alex Rogen, Brandon, S.D.; JD Rosman, Creston, Wash.; Eric Shoop, Dalmatia, Pa.; Haley Throne, Lexington, Ga.; Renae Tokach, Saint Anthony, N.D.; Katlyn Tunstill, Fayetteville, Ark.; Carly Watt, Iva, S.C.; and Olivia Wilson, Ogden, Ill.