American Agri-Women launches AgDay365, elects national officers and presents awards at 2016 Convention

Farm Forum

Raleigh, N.C — American Agri-Women (AAW) launched AgDay365 at its annual convention held this month in Raleigh, N.C. AgDay365 is a year-long education and advocacy campaign to show that everyone is part of agriculture, every day, and to raise awareness about who produces our nation’s abundant food, fiber and energy supply. The organization also elected its national officers and recognized outstanding advocates for agriculture.

AAW is the nation’s largest coalition of farm, ranch and agribusiness women representing more than 50 state, commodity and agribusiness affiliates. The 41st annual convention’s theme was “A Force for Truth” and was held with the support of North Carolina Agri-Women.

The American Agri-Women national officers for 2016-2017 are:

• President Doris Mold, St. Paul, Minn., and Cumberland, Wis.

• First Vice President of Resolutions & Vital Issues Heather Hampton+Knodle, Fillmore, Ill.

• Vice President of Communications Jane Marshall, Eaton, Ohio.

• Vice President of Education Jean Goslin, Dwight, Kan.

• Secretary Kristi Bishop, Stillwater, Okla.

• Treasurer Denise Gentsch, Austin, Texas.

• Past-President Sue McCrum, Mars Hill, Maine

Outgoing officers Secretary Arlene Kovash, Monmouth, Ore, and Vice President of Education Donnell Scott, Manhattan, Kan. were each thanked for her service by President Doris Mold.

At Convention, AAW presented its 2016 VERITAS award to Warren E. Clark, owner of CCI Marketing. He has been a long-time behind-the-scenes, pro bono communication support and service provider for AAW. He has provided free use of AgPR – the news release distribution service for agriculture. This has been a great service to AAW, helping to increase awarness for the organization throughout North America. He has been providing his CCI Marketing clients with agricultural marketing communications consulting services for more than 30 years. Warren is a great collaborator. He works dilligently and persistantly to connect people who can help each other. He works tirelessly to promote agriculture. For all these things AAW was pleased to honor Warren E. Clark with its 2016 VERITAS award.

Outstanding members recognized

Two American Agri-Women members were honored with LEAVEN awards, the organization’s highest honor for members. Deb Whalen, Oklee, Minn. and Minnesota Agri-Women and Kimmi Lewis of LaJunta, Colo. and Colorado Agri-Women. Kimmi was unable to attend because she had just been elected to the Colorado State House.

AAW President Doris Mold honored two AAW members each with the President’s award. She presented the awards to Lynn Woolf of Kansas Agri-Women and to Arwen McGilvra of Oregon Women for Ag.