SDGFP Commission revises proposed changes to nonresident waterfowl licenses

Staff reports
Farm Forum

Last week, the South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks Commission adjusted its current proposal regarding the distribution and number of nonresident three-day waterfowl licenses.

Currently, nonresidents holding the three-day NWR-00X license can hunt in Campbell, Edmunds, Faulk, McPherson, Walworth, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Hughes and Lyman counties. The 00X licenses are good for private land only in Potter, Stanley, Sully, Hughes and Lyman counties.

A nonresident NWR-00Y license is currently valid in Brown, Spink, Marshall, Day, Clark, Roberts, Codington, Hamlin, Grant and Deuel counties, and it allows nonresident hunters to hunt both public and private land.

The revised proposal reduces the overall number of three-day licenses from 2,000 to 1,750 and allocates 1,000 licenses for NWR-00X with 500 valid only from Dec. 1 through the end of waterfowl seasons. It also establishes a new statewide unit with 250 licenses and excludes the counties in NWR-00X and NWR-00Y hunting units, along with Bennett, Charles Mix, Bon Homme, Yankton, Clay and Union counties. The proposal would also make all temporary three-day licenses valid on private land only except for NWR-00Y. The proposal would also move Brown County from the NRW-00Y to the NRW-00X unit.

“Over the past month, members of the GFP Commission have listened to residents and nonresidents regarding how the three-day nonresident waterfowl licenses should be allocated and decided to refine a proposal that was issued in April,” said Tony Leif, Wildlife Division director, in a news release. “This revised proposal replaces the April proposal and is open for public comment until the June 8.”

The Commission will finalize this proposal on June 8 at Cedar Shore Resort in Oacoma. Written comments can be sent to To be part of the public record, comments must be received by 12 p.m. on June 8. Please include a full name along with the city and state of residence. To comment in person, the public hearing will be held June 8 at 2 p.m. at the Cedar Shore Resort in Oacoma.