Perdue announces Farm Service Agency State Committee appointees

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Farm Forum

Washington, D.C. – On Jan. 4, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue announced a slate of Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee Appointees. State committees are selected by the Secretary, serve at the pleasure of the Secretary, and are responsible for carrying out FSA’s farm programs within delegated authorities.

“The State Committees will help to ensure USDA is providing our farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural producers with the best customer service,” Secretary Perdue said. “They serve as a liaison between USDA and the producers in each state across the nation by keeping them informed and hearing their appeals and complaints. The committees are made up mostly of active farmers and ranchers, representing their peers and ensuring USDA’s programs are supporting the American harvest.”

The following is a list of State Committees released on Jan. 4:

South Dakota

• Committee Chair Mark Gross – Bridgewater

• Gwen Kitzen – Belle Fourche

• Tiffani Robertson – Hermosa

• Bill Simonsen – Roslyn

North Dakota

• Committee Chair Jim Hauge – Mandan

• Jared Hagert – Emerado

• Erika Kenner – Leeds

• Edward Kessel – Dickinson

• Barton Schott – Kulm


• Committee Chair Scott Winslow – Fountain

• Kurt Blomgren – Butterfield

• Jay Nord – Wolverton

• Mike Yost – Murdock

• Karolyn Zurn – Callaway


• Committee Chair Ray Gaesser – Corning

• Nathan Anderson – Cherokee

• Laura Cunningham – Nora Springs

• Jim Stillman – Palo Alto

• Pat Swanson – Ottumwa


• Committee Chair Scott Spilker – Beatrice

• Cindi Allen – Ogallala

• Mark Jagels – Davenport

• Hilary Maricle – Boone County

• Geoff Ruth – Rising City

State committees are appointed for a one year term which began on January 1, 2018. Each state committee has five members, one chairperson and four members. States that are not listed here or that have incomplete lists will be announced at a later date.