Top leaders honored with American Agri-Women Awards

Farm Forum

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. — At the American Agri-Women (AAW) national convention Nov. 15-18, 2017, Oregon Women for Agriculture (OWA) was the first place recipient for Most New Members. California Women for Agriculture as the first place recipient for Most Members. Several OWA Members were recognized for contributions to AAW. Additionally, three members of the Oregon affiliate Kristi Miller, Mallory Phelan and Arwen McGilvra, plus Lynn Wolf of Kansas Agri-Women and Krystal Doolittle of Iowa Agri Women were honored for their part in the Ag Day 365 campaign. (See and

Ag Day 365 was a year-long advocacy initiative started by American Agri-Women during the 2016 National Convention and formally kicked-off at National Ag Day 2017 in Washington D.C. Mrs. McGilvra was also honored with the organizations president’s award along with Lynn Woolf of Kansas. President Doris Mold, MN, remarked on the great amount of work McGilvra and Woolf did for the all-volunteer organization during the year, and thanked them for being “the wind beneath her wings.” American Agri-Women is the nation’s largest coalition of farm, ranch and agri-business women. American Agri-Women began in 1974 with members of women from four states joining together to create a national organization to represent women involved in agriculture and agri-business.

The “Ag Day is Every Day” campaign, or #AgDay365, is inspired by and builds on the important connections made between the public and farm and ranch producers on National Ag Day, which is celebrated in March and organized by the Agriculture Council of America.

(Pictured left to right) American Agri-Women President Doris Mold, and recipients of the Ag Day 365 campaign awards including Arwen McGilvra (Oregon), Lynn Wolf (Kansas), Krystal Doolittle (Iowa), Kristi Miller (Oregon). Not pictured is Mallory Phelan (Oregon). Courtesy photo