Finalists announced for prestigious North Dakota FFA Awards

North Dakota FFA Foundation
Farm Forum

BISMARCK, N.D. — The North Dakota FFA Association has announced finalists for four of its most prestigious award categories at the annual State FFA Convention June 4-7 at the North Dakota State University campus in Fargo: The Star Awards.

Finalists for the Star Awards have mastered skills in production, finance, management or research. The “Star” categories include: Star Farmer, Star in Ag. Placement, Star in Agriscience and Star in Agribusiness.

“Releasing the Star Finalists is always exciting after a long year of hard work and dedication from these members,” says Tamra Maddock, executive director of the North Dakota FFA Foundation. “We are incredibly proud of the work these young men and women have put into their Supervised Agricultural Experiences (SAE) and wish them luck as they compete at the state convention.”

The Star Farmer category recognizes achievement in career and leadership development and is awarded to the FFA member with the top production agriculture SAE. The Star Farmer is considered the highest designation awarded to young farmer. The finalists for Star Farmer are as follows:

• Hayden Beck, Fessenden-Bowdon FFA.

• Jacob Leier, Napoleon FFA.

• Kurt Muggli, Grant County FFA.

• Hope Scheresky, Max FFA.

The Star in Agricultural Placement is awarded to the individual with the best placement SAE program and one who exhibits proven leadership skills. Placement experience can consist of a member’s paid labor hours as well as directed laboratory labor hours. The finalists for Star in Agricultural placement are as follows:

• Cory Schmaltz, Harvey FFA.

• Alexander Ruff, Wishek FFA.

• Ben Saewert, Kindred FFA.

• Ryan Woroniecki, Hebron FFA.

The Star in Agriscience is awarded to an FFA member who is actively engaged in agriscience research and experimentation through his or her SAE program. To be considered for this award, a member must be actively involved in the development of the experimental design, data collection, interpretation and publishing the results. The finalists for Star in Agriscience are as follows:

• Caleb Boehm, Richland 44 FFA.

• Abigail Hintz, Center FFA.

• Mykaela Jacobson, Center FFA.

• Brianna Maddock, Kindred FFA.

The Star in Agribusiness is awarded to the member with the best non-production entrepreneurial agribusiness SAE while displaying proven leadership skills. For a student pursuing a career in agribusiness, this is the highest distinction the FFA can award. The finalists for Star in Agribusiness are as follows:

• Kevin Friedt, Harvey.

• Billie Lentz, Rolla.

• Rachel Voight, Killdeer.