Milbank FFA teams complete at State FFA Competition

FF Editor
Farm Forum

#td_uid_6_5b58831623076 .td-doubleSlider-2 .td-item1 {

background: url( 0 0 no-repeat;


#td_uid_6_5b58831623076 .td-doubleSlider-2 .td-item2 {

background: url( 0 0 no-repeat;


1 of 2

Milbank FFA Chapter

At the 90th South Dakota FFA Convention, April 15-17, the Milbank FFA Chapter had 39 FFA members compete in Proficiency Award areas, Career Development Events, and state officer selection.

Kadon Leddy placed Gold in AgriScience in Research-Integrated System. Kadon also placed 1st in Veterinary Science Entrepreneurship/Placement Proficiency Award. Kadon’s Agriscience and Veterinary Science application advances to Regional FFA Consideration.

Milbank FFA members receiving the State FFA Degree, the highest FFA Degree given out by the South Dakota FFA were: Sarah Jarman, Magally Aburto, and Chase Pinkert. To earn the State FFA Degree, FFA members have been involved in FFA program for at least 3 years, earn at least $1000 through their Supervised Agriculture Experience Project, and participate in at least five or more FFA activities above the local chapter level.

Magally Aburto tried for a State FFA Officer position. Magally had to submit a written application along with recommendations by several individuals. Magally then went through several day interview process that concluded on Tuesday morning. The State FFA officers were announced at the Tuesday morning session.

Milbank FFA team placings and members participating were:

• Food Science: 2nd Place team – Sophia Seffrood, 3th Individual; Tori Quade, 6th Individual; Sara Capp; and Sadie Holland.

• Natural Resource: 3rd Place team – Chase Pinkert, 4th Individual; Austin Schuelke; Tanner Kettwig; and Kylee Mogan.

• Nursery Landscaping: 4th Place team – Noah Mursu, 9th Individual; Heidi Meyer; Eric Van Sambeek; and Heidi Capp.

• Milk Quality Products: 6th Place team – Kellie Christians, Nathan Loutsch, Katie VanderWal, and Devon Bailing.

• Ag Mechanics: 7th Place team – Josh Hoeke, Tommy Holtquist, Brian Wiese, Darby Waniorek.

• Floriculture: 9th Place team – Cassidy Voeltz, Noemi Lus Gomez, Camryn Phinney, Taylor Dragt, and alternate Hanna Ryazanova.

• Dairy Cattle: 10th Place team – Kendra Schweer, 7th Individual; Tanner Schwagel; Jordan Reimche; and Colten Giesen. Suzanne Souza assisted with training of the team.

• Vet Science: 24th Place team – Landon Brown, Kayla Bury, Cassidy Christians, Makenna Osowski.

• Livestock: 34th Place team – Jaylin Jonason, Jackson McFaden, Lindsey Mertens, and Callie Bolin.

Tanner Kettwig and Austin Schuelke were the Milbank FFA Chapter official delegates at the State FFA Convention business session. Claire Mischel and Nathan Loutsch were the District I FFA representatives.

Jerry Janisch is the Milbank FFA advisor.

Milbank FFA State Degree recipients. From left, Magally Aburto, Chase Pinkert and Sarah Jarman. Courtesy photo
Milbank FFA Food Science Team. From left, Sadie Holland, Tori Quade, Sophia Seffrood, Sara Capp. Courtesy photo