USDA announces United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board appointments

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Farm Forum

WASHINGTON – On July 5, Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue announced the appointment of four members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board.

Producers newly appointed to serve three-year terms are:

• Craig A. Poore, Alton, Kansas.

• Boyd Funk, Garden City, Kansas.

• Jim Massey IV, Robstown, Texas.

• Adam Schindler, Reliance, South Dakota (At-Large).

“The United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board works to help increase demand for sorghum both domestically and internationally. Last year, more than $1 billion of U.S. sorghum was sold in more than 21 countries around the world” said Perdue. “I truly appreciate the time and expertise these individuals have agreed to give to guide their industry and help it thrive.”

The 13-member board is composed of nine sorghum farmers who represent Kansas, Texas and Oklahoma, the three states with the largest sorghum production, and four at-large national representatives. More information about the board is available on AMS’ United Sorghum Checkoff Program page and on the National Sorghum Board website.