Governor’s Safety Awards given to 11 Agtegra Cooperative locations

Agtegra Cooperative
Farm Forum

ABERDEEN, S.D. — Eleven Agtegra Cooperative locations received Governor’s Meritorious Achievement Awards from the South Dakota Safety Council at the annual South Dakota Safety and Health Conference held Wednesday in Sioux Falls.

Among the 26 recipients of the Governor’s Meritorious Achievement Award are 11 Agtegra Cooperative locations, including: Agtegra Aberdeen, Agtegra Bath Fertilizer, Agtegra Chamberlain, Agtegra Huron Elevator and Fertilizer, Agtegra Ipswich Regional Office, Agtegra Kennebec Agronomy, Agtegra Stickney, Agtegra Tulare, Agtegra Wolsey Fertilizer, and Agtegra Wolsey Grain.

The South Dakota Safety Council presents Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards to South Dakota employers for excellence in safety. Recipients of the South Dakota Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards are required to provide injury data for the most recent three years and complete a safety program evaluation scorecard that measures implementation of a comprehensive safety program.

Meritorious Achievement recipients must demonstrate a minimum of three years of Days Away Restricted Transferred (DART) rates that exceed the average for industry classification. Agtegra Cooperative not only exceeds the industry average, but is in the industry best quartile measured per 100 employees.

“Safety is one of our core values and we seek to demonstrate safety at all times at all our Agtegra Cooperative locations,” said Vice President of Safety Bill Spreeman. “These awards recognize the efforts of our entire employee team to place safety as a top priority every day.”

Agtegra representatives (from left): Andy Clemen, regional safety specialist; Casey Buchholz, Tulare location manager; Tom Waletich, regional safety specialist; Dean Weidner, Wolsey scale manager; John Zeck, Bath assistant manager.