Prime Time Gala presents check to Feeding South Dakota for $263,250

South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation
Farm Forum

SIOUX FALLS —The South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation presented a check for $263,250 to Feeding South Dakota on June 22 during the Prime Time Gala & Concert at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center. This amount exceeded their original pledge amount of $150,000. Nearly 1,600 guests attended the sixth annual gala that also included a silent and live auction as well as a raffle of a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Duramax from Billion Chevrolet. The lucky winner of the truck this year was John Husk of Aberdeen, South Dakota. During the gala, a total of $15,000 in scholarships were awarded to five students attending South Dakota schools interested in the improvement of beef production and promotion to aid in their education. This year’s scholarship winners included:

• $1,000 – Logan Wolter of Wessington Springs, South Dakota.

• $2,000 – Tyler Bush of Britton, South Dakota.

• $3,000 – Jonathan Sumption of Frederick, South Dakota.

• $4,000 – Cutler Michalski of Willow Lake, South Dakota.

• $5,000 – Kadon Leddy of Stockholm, South Dakota.

In addition, the first annual Fed Cattle Challenge winners were announced at the Prime Time Gala on Saturday night. The goal of this program is to help develop the next generation of feed yard owners and managers in our state. The Fed Cattle Challenge provided an opportunity for youth, ages 14 to 18, to learn about the science and economics of finishing cattle by participating in a cattle finishing program. Those youth that were awarded included:

• $500 – Liberty Thompson of Elkton, South Dakota.

• $500 – Jacob Rausch of Hoven, South Dakota.

• $1,000 – Colby Briggs of Madison, South Dakota.

• $1,500 – Trevor Johnson of Centerville, South Dakota.

After the gala concluded, the night was highlighted with a country music concert at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center with Jerrod Niemann and headliner, Jake Owen.

“The Sixth Annual Prime Time Gala was unforgettable thanks to all of the volunteers, sponsors and attendees,” exclaimed Ryan Eichler, president of the South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation. “Despite challenges in 2019, the beef industry in South Dakota is full of the most compassionate people on the planet. Because of their generosity, we’ll help Feeding South Dakota procure the most nutritious protein available. In the year 2020, this donation will likely yield the one millionth pound of beef purchased as a result of the Prime Time Gala, and that’s something everyone should be proud of.”

While protein is a critical part of any meal, it makes up about 10% of the 12.5 million pounds of food that Feeding South Dakota distributes on an annual basis. High quality protein, like beef, plays an important role in overall health, including weight control, by increasing satiety and helping to build and maintain muscle mass. Since 2014, funds raised at the event have helped to purchase and distribute over 815,209 pounds of beef for those that need it the most across South Dakota.

These donations have been distributed to all 66 counties in the state. Annually, Feeding South Dakota provides 11.3 million meals to hungry individuals across the state.

According to Allie Jensen, South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation executive director, “Despite the hardships farmers and ranchers are facing with the weather and the economy, the industry came together and made it a record setting year! The generosity from the beef industry is overwhelming!” For more information about the 2020 Prime Time Gala that will be held on June 27 and for details about the South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation’s Scholarship Program and Fed Cattle Challenge, please visit

The Fed Cattle Challenge award winners are, from left to right: Erik Loe (Midwest PMS), Roxanne Knock (South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation), Liberty Thompson (Elkton, South Dakota), Jacob Rausch (Hoven, South Dakota), Colby Briggs (Madison, South Dakota), Trevor Johnson (Centerville, South Dakota) and Terry Heinle (Winner Circle Feed Yard).
Scholarship award winners, from left to right: Logan Wolter (Wessington Springs, South Dakota), Tyler Bush (Britton, South Dakota), Jonathan Sumption (Frederick, South Dakota), Cutler Michalski (Willow Lake, South Dakota) and Kadon Leddy (Stockholm, South Dakota).
From left to right, Todd Wilkinson (South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation), Christina Oey (Feeding South Dakota), Matt Gassen (Feeding South Dakota) and Ryan Eichler (South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation). This check presentation makes the total donation amount from the last four Prime Time Gala events a total of $1,229,360.