SD 4-Hers recognized during 2019 4-H Shooting Sports National Championship

SDSU Extension
Farm Forum

BROOKINGS — South Dakota 4-H members received national recognition during the 2019 4-H Shooting Sports National Championships held in Grand Island, Neb. June 23-28, 2019.

Of the 659 youth from across the United States who competed, 36 were South Dakota 4-H members who qualified during the 2019 4-H Spring Shoot in Pierre and the 2018 4-H Fall Shoot in Mitchell.

The South Dakota teams who received national recognition include:

Hunting Skills placed third overall, third in Wildlife ID, second in General Skills and third in Decision Making. The team had top ten finishes throughout the competition including Kaylee Bosma of Lincoln County who placed ninth in General Skills, Hunter Laverack of Bennett County who placed fifth in Decision Making and Dylan Singrey of Brookings County who placed second in General Skills and sixth overall. The hunting skills team was coached by SDSU Extension Youth Safety Field Specialist John Keimig.

Air Rifle placed third overall, second in 3 Position, second in Standing, and fourth in Silhouettes. Throughout the competition, members of the team were recognized with top ten finishes in different phases. Justin Merriman of Hughes County was recognized as first in 3 Position, fourth in standing and eighth overall, Jessica Hays of Hughes County placed in each phase and seventh overall and Alexandra Smith of Hughes County placed seventh in Standing, 10th in Silhouettes and 10th overall. The air rifle team was coached by Sean Kruger, a 4-H Volunteer in Hughes County.

Air Pistol placed fourth overall, fifth in Slow Fire and second in Silhouettes. Eli Fanning of Hand County placed eighth in Silhouettes, Tee McAmis of Butte County placed fifth in Silhouettes and seventh overall and Kenzee Schafer of Jerauld County placed fifth overall and was eighth in Slow Fire.

The air pistol team was coached by 4-H volunteer Art Kneen of Sanborn County.

22 Pistol placed fifth overall, fifth in Silhouettes and fourth in Slow Fire. Jesse Mills of Fall River County placed seventh in Slow Fire and seventh in Camp Perry and Riley Newman of Butte County placed seventh in the Silhouettes. The 22 pistol team was coached by Brian Fatherlos, a 4-H volunteer from Union County.

Shotgun Coleman Swanson of Minnehaha County placed eighth in Trap portion of the Competition. Other team members included Grant Gubrud of Deuel County, Coleman Swanson of Minnehaha County, Zach Huebner of Douglas County and Wyatt Rose of Hughes County. The shotgun team was coached by Chris Gerber, a Douglas County 4-H volunteer.

Muzzleloading team placed fifth in the Novelty portion of the competition. Jayce Beastrom of Hughes County placed eighth in the Novelty portion and was recognized as ninth overall of 67 competitors. Other team members included Parker Baker of Tripp County, Logan Meyer of Grant County and Katelin Deneke of Jerauld County.

The team was coached by 4-H volunteer Eric Schulte of Brooking County.

Recurve Archery George Clark of Tripp County placed eighth in FITA portion of the competition. Other team members included George Clark of Tripp County, Jaden Plooster of Douglas County, Owen Eitemiller of Charles Mix County and Shannon Weller of Gregory County. The recurve archery team was coached by Scott Perry, a Beadle County 4-H volunteer.

Other teams represented South Dakota

Compound Archery team members included Andrew Mairose of Brule County, Tyler DeVelder of Clay County, Katlyn Kyar of Marshall County and Baylee Gerber of Douglas County. The team was coached by Craig DeVelder, a 4-H volunteer in Clay County.

Small Bore rifle team members included Brooke Wika, Dane Wika and Brayton Mack of Brookings County and Evan Ohlrogge of Sanborn County. The Small Bore rifle team was coached by Tom Smith, a Lawrence County 4-H volunteer.

Emily Foiles, a National 4-H Shooting Sports Ambassador and South Dakota 4-H Shooting Sports participant, was awarded one of two Daisy Scholarships by the National Shooting Sports Committee.

All states represented at the 2019 4-H Shooting Sports National Championships with complete teams (a team in each of the 9 disciplines) competed for a sweepstakes award, of which South Dakota placed seventh.

For more information on 4-H shooting sports, contact John Keimig, SDSU Extension youth safety field specialist by email or call 605.688.4167.

Hunting Team Team members, from left: Cloe Swanson of Minnehaha County, Kaylee Bosma of Lincoln County, John Keimig with SDSU Extension, Dylan Singrey of Brookings County, Hunter Laverack of Bennett County.
Air Rifle Team members, from left: Justin Merriman of Hughes County, Eli Dissing of Minnehaha County, Alexandra Smith of Hughes County, Sean Kruger of Hughes County-Volunteer, Jessica Hays of Hughes County.
Air Pistol Team members, from left: Zane Howe of Pennington County, Kenzee Schafer of Jerauld County, Art Kneen of Sanborn Co-Volunteer, Tee McAmis of Butte County, Eli Fanning of Hand County.
Small Bore Pistol Team members, from left: Riley Newman of Butte County, Bradley Dangel of Charles Mix County, Brian Fatherlos of Union County-Volunteer, Jesse Mills of Fall River County, Rose Smith of Lawrence County.
Muzzleloading Team members, from left: Parker Baker of Tripp County, Jayce Beastrom of Hughes County, Eric Schulte of Brookings County-Volunteer, Logan Meyer of Grant County, Katelin Deneke of Jerauld County.