South Dakota Timed Event Championship results

South Dakota Department of Agriculture
Farm Forum

HURON, S.D. - The 10th annual South Dakota Timed Event Championship sponsored in part by Panhandle Slim, LG Seeds, and Double D Western, was Sept. 5-6 in Huron at the South Dakota State Fair.

“This year’s event was action packed with contestants from South Dakota, North Dakota, Wyoming, Iowa, and Minnesota,” said Jason Edleman, SDTEC organizer, in a news release. “It was exciting to see the large turnout of both contestants and spectators.”

The 2020 SDTEC winner was Chasyn Ystaas of Dickinson, N.D., with reserve cowboy going to Wyatt Tibbitts of Hot Springs, S.D. The overall horse of the championship also went to Ystaas.

Other overall winners were Payton Pirrung of Hartford, S.D., in breakaway roping; Taya Skiles of Inwood, Iowa, in barrel racing; Riley Donnelly of Elk Point, S.D., in goat tying; Ystaas in calf roping; Tibbitts in steer wrestling; and Jace Thorstenson of New Underwood, S.D., and Treg Thorstenson of Lantry, S.D., in team roping.

The area’s elite youth rodeo contestants competed in six timed events, including tie-down calf roping, barrel racing, team roping, goat tying, breakaway roping, and steer wrestling. Rodeo youth from across the country, ages 14-19, were eligible to compete for the title.

For more information, visit or like South Dakota Timed Event Championship on Facebook.