American Soybean Association honors Iowan with Distinguished Leadership Award

American Soybean Association
Farm Forum

The American Soybean Association (ASA) recognized John Heisdorffer, from Keota, Iowa, with its Distinguished Leadership Award during an awards ceremony broadcast Mar. 16.

The ASA Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes a soybean grower or association staff leader whose leadership has strengthened the national or state association, enhanced soy-related policy efforts and increased farmer education or engagement.

Heisdorffer’s soy leadership spans both state and national levels. Serving on the Iowa Soybean Association board for many years, he helped lead the association and Iowa Soybean Promotion Board through a joint strategic planning process that resulted in a merger of the two organizations in 2005. He became president of the unified Iowa Soybean Association in 2008 and served as chair of the association’s building committee in 2009 and 2010 when the Iowa Soybean Association’s building project was completed.

Heisdorffer completed nine years of service on the ASA Board of Directors this past December, during which time he served on a variety of ASA committees, participated in trade missions, testified before Congress and advocated for soybean farmers on many key issues, including the farm bill and trade agreements.

Heisdorffer was elected president of ASA in December 2017.

He has also served on ASA’s World Initiative for Soy in Human Health (WISHH) committee, the U.S. Soybean Export Council board and as a member of the National Biodiesel Board.

Heisdorffer has a clear record of strong and steady state and national leadership that has immensely benefited U.S. soybean farmers.

Johh Heisdorffer