Team South Dakota competes in the National Finals High School Rodeo

Farm Forum

Team South Dakota is competing at the National Finals High School Rodeo in Rock Springs, Wyo.

The finals began July 14 and continue through Saturday at the Sweetwater Events Complex.

Northeast South Dakota had three state champions plus Natalie Prins of Sisseton won Miss South Dakota High School Rodeo and will represent the state in the national prep rodeo queen contest. Area state champions were Cassy Woodward of Dupree in girls’ breakaway roping, Nolan Hall of Timber Lake in bull riding and Jordan Bickel of Trail City in pole bending.

Other area national qualifiers were Jana Hunt of Dupree in pole bending, Kash Deal of Dupree in saddle bronc and Madison Rau of Mobridge and Laura O’Leary of Timber Lake in barrel racing. Here is the entire South Dakota team:

Queen: Natalie Prins, Sisseton.

Bareback riding: Shane O’Connell of Rapid City, Trig Clark of Meadow, Tayte Clark of Meadow, and J.D. Anderson of Hill City.

Girls’ breakaway roping: Cassy Woodward of Dupree, Syerra “C.Y.” Christensen of Kennebec, Alyssa Lockhart of Oelrichs, and Brooke Howell of Belle Fourche.

Steer wrestling: Cameron Fanning of Olivet, Andy Nelson of Spearfish, Tyler Gaer of Newell and Jake Fulton of Valentine.

Pole bending: Jordan Bickel of Trail City, Mazee Pauley of Wall, Jana Hunt of Dupree, Bailey Moody of Letcher.

Saddle bronc: Jordan Hunt of Faith, Kash Deal of Dupree, Tayte Clark of Meadow, and Teal Schmidt of Sturgis.

Goat tying: Carlee Johnston of Elm Springs, Cedar Jandreau of Kennebec, Mazee Pauley of Wall, and Rickie Engesser of Spearfish.

Barrel racing: Taylor Engesser of Spearfish, Jorry Lammers of Hartford, Madison Rau of Mobridge, and Laura O’Leary of Timber Lake.

Tie-down roping: Treg Schaack of Edgemont, Grady Egly of Oelrichs, Jake Fulton of Valentine, and Carson Johnston of Elm Springs.

Bull riding: Nolan Hall of Timber Lake, Jake Frazier of White Horse, Casey Heninger of Ft. Pierre, and Dayton Spiel of Parade.

Team roping: Tyler Gaer of Newell and Carson Musick of Pierre, Levi Lord of Sturgis and Treg Schaack of Edgemont, Taylor Tupper of Belle Fourche and Cyler Dowling of Newell, and Matt Nelson of Colman and Dalton Fisher of Centerville.

Boys’ cutting: Treg Schaack of Edgemont, Josh Hunt of Faith, True Buchholz of Kadoka and Jade Crago of Belle Fourche.

Girls’ cutting: Erin Kenzy of Iona, Taylor Bothwell of Pierre, Jessica Ryan of Belle Fourche, Katie Lensegrav of Interior, and Shelby Strand of Harrisburg.

Follow @jpapendick on Twitter.