South Dakotan national champ at high school finals

Farm Forum

For the second straight year, a South Dakota cowboy has won a national title at the National High School Finals Rodeo in Rock Springs, Wyo.

Shane O’Connell of Rapid City and Clayton Biglow, Clements, Calif., tied for the bareback riding title over last weekend, each collecting 212 points on three rides. Drew Cowan of Highmore won the 2012 tie-down (calf) roping in the 2012 national finals.

South Dakotans have now have won 51 national titles in the 65 years of the event. Hunter Rackham of Idaho was crowned the 2013 national finals queen. Miss South Dakota, Natalie Prins of Sisseton, was fifth overall.

The team champion was Texas, while South Dakota was 12th (11th in boys and 15th in girls).

Top 10 finishes at the finals from South Dakotans were: Tayte Clark of Meadow, ninth in all-around cowboy and 10th in saddle bronc riding; Taylor Engesser of Spearfish was eighth in barrel racing and her horse Cool Rowdy was second in girls’ horse of the year; and Rainy Robinson of Caldwell was ninth in barrel racing.