Horse Council meets April 12 in Brookings

Farm Forum

The annual meeting of the South Dakota Horse Council will be April 12 at 1 p.m. in the Walstrom Room of the SDSU Animal Science Building in Brookings.

Included on the agenda will be a discussion on the spring clinic, trail riding, S.D. Horseperson of the Year and reports from committees.

New business will address funding for awards for the 2014 State 4-H Horse Show.

Election of Directors and Officers:

Directors for 2014 (standing) Gene Carr; Jo Waldner; Janice Cronin; Richard Waldner.

Directors 2015 (standing) Doug Nickel; Walt Schaefer; Mike Olson; Troy Geis.

Elected to serve through 2016: Diane Nickel; Brandon Kinney; Machelle Bonde and Frieda Fossum – Frieda has since resigned her position. Replacement must be elected.

Election of Officers: President (Gene Carr); Vice President (Doug Nickel); Secretary (Jo Waldner); Treasurer (Walt Schaefer).