Aberdeen area team ropers lasso national rodeo finals

Farm Forum

ABERDEEN — If you need a team of ropers, this is the region of the state to look for them.

All four high school two-person roping teams that qualified for the national finals this month in Wyoming had representatives from the Aberdeen region.

Brent Woodward, of Dupree, was a state champion in the event along with partner Sam Huffman, of Belle Fourche, this past week at the 65th annual South Dakota High School State Finals Rodeo in Belle Fourche. The second place team was comprised of both area athletes in Reece Wientjes, of Mound City, and Nolan Richie, of Bristol. Colby Hetzel, of Lemmon, placed third with his partner Prestyn Novak, of Newell.

Finally, the fourth place team was Cole Carlson, of Aberdeen, and Jeremiah Johnson, of Huron.

The top four teams and individuals in each event, including ties, qualified for Team South Dakota at nationals. The 66th annual National High School Finals Rodeo will be July 13-19 in Rock Springs, Wyo.

Other area qualifiers for nationals at the five-day state finals were Treye LaPlante, of Dupree (bull riding); Katy Miller, of Faith (breakaway roping and goat tying); Jana Hunt, of Dupree (pole bending); and Jordan Hunt, of Faith (saddle bronc riding).

Miller was the state champion in goat tying.

Belle Fourche repeated as the team champion. The new high school state rodeo queen is Shaelynne Heitsch, of Hermosa, who will be a senior this fall at Rapid City Central. The 2013 queen was Natalie Prins, of Sisseton.

The other winners:

• All-around cowboy: Carson Johnson, of Elm Springs.

• All-around cowgirl: Taylor Bothwell, of Pierre.

• Reserve champions: Rickie Engesser, of Spearfish, and Herbie O’Daniel, of Kadoka.

• All-around rookie cowboy: Rance Johnson, of Phillip.

• All-around rookie cowgirl: Karissa Rayhill, of Martin.

Here are the top four place winners and national qualifiers in each event:

Bareback bronc riding: 1, Trig Clark of Meadow; 2, Shane O’Connell of Rapid City; 3, JD Anderson of Hill City; and 4, Dylan Riggins of Kadoka.

Barrel racing: 1, Rickie Engesser of Spearfish; 2, Shelby Vinson of Worthing; 3, Chesney Nagel of Springfield; and 4, Alyssa Lockhart of Oelrichs.

Breakaway roping: 1, Cedar Jandreau of Kennebec; 2, Rylee Jo Rutten of Colome; 3 (tie), Chesney Nagel of Springfield and Katy Miller of Faith.

Bull riding: 1, Shane O’Connell of Rapid City; 2, Jake Frazier of White Horse,; 3, Treye LaPlante of Dupree; and 4, Rance Johnson of Philip.

Goat tying: 1, Katy Miller of Faith; 2, Brandi Cwach of Geddes; 3, Kaylee Clark of Box Elder; and 4, Chesney Nagel of Springfield.

Pole bending: 1, Bailey Moody of Letcher; 2, Payton Donnelly of Elk Point; 3, Shelby Vinson of Worthing; and 4, Jana Hunt of Dupree.

Saddle bronc riding: 1, Taylor Tupper of St. Onge; 2, Tanner Simons of Sturgis; 3, Trig Clark of Meadow; and 4, Jordan Hunt of Faith.

Steer wrestling: 1, Herbie O’Daniel of Kadoka; 2, Wyatt Schaack of Wall; 3, Cameron Fanning of Olivet; and 4, Justin Boll of Hartford.

Tie-down roping: 1, Lathan Lauing of Oral; 2, James Kirwan of Bonesteel; 3, Prestyn Novak of Newell; and 4 (three-way tie), Brock Belkham of Flandreau, Carson Johnson of Elm Springs and Jake Fulton of Valentine, Neb.

Team roping: 1, Brent Woodward of Dupree and Sam Huffman of Belle Fourche; 2, Reece Wientjes of Mound City and Nolan Richie of Bristol; 3, Colby Hetzel of Lemmon and Prestyn Novak of Newell; and 4, Jeremiah Johnson of Huron and Cole Carlson of Aberdeen.

Boys’ cutting: 1, Chet Crago of Belle Fourche; 2, Sawyer Strand of Harrisburg; 3, Carson Johnston of Elm Springs; and 4, Herbie O’Daniel of Kadoka.

Girls’ cutting: 1, Erin Kenzy of Iona; 2, Shelby Strand of Harrisburg; 3 (tie), Karlee Peterson of Sturgis and Taylor Bothwell of Pierre.

Follow @jpapendick on Twitter.