Lockhart, two Nebraskans win titles at Elite Rodeo finals

Farm Forum

Oelrichs barrel racer Lisa Lockhart and two Nebraska rough stock riders were among the champions crowned at the first Elite Rodeo Association Championships in Dallas.

Lockhart finished the ERA season with 3,425 points to capture the barrel racing crown by more than 600 points. She had accumulated 2,525 points during the regular season and added 900 at the finals by placing third in the first go-round on Nov. 11 and taking runner-up honors in the second go-round.

Those times were 13.06 and 13.106 seconds, respectively.

She did not place in the third go-round on Nov. 13, but still won the championship with plenty of room to spare. Second place for the year went to Kassidy Denison of Tohatchi, N.M., with 2,812.5 points. Denison is an eight-time Indian barrel racing champion.

Former Chadron State College cowgirl, Britany Fleck Diaz, formerly of Solen, N.D., and now of Desdemona, Texas, finished sixth in the final ERA standings with 2,237.5 points.

All three barrel race go-rounds were won by Kassie Mowry of Stephenville, Texas, who spends more time training barrel racing horses than she does competing. She claimed a spot in the finals during preliminary competition that took place before the championships began.

Next up for Lockhart is the Wrangler Pro Rodeo Cowboy Association Finals in Las Vegas the first 10 days in December. This is the 10th consecutive year she has qualified for the finals. She is seventh among the 15 finalists entering this year’s showdown.

The Nebraskans who won the championships in Dallas are bareback rider Steven Dent of Mullen and saddle bronc rider Cort Scheer of Elsmere.

In addition, Chad Ferley of Oelrichs placed sixth in the saddle bronc riding.

Dent had the bareback lead by about 50 points over Kaycee Feild entering the ERA finals and won the title with 3,437.5 points, exactly 200 more than the Utah bronc rider.

Dent scored 80 points to place seventh in the first go-round, was second in the next go-round with 85 points and won the final session on Nov. 13 with an 86 score. Feild was second, seventh and third in the go-rounds, respectively.

Scheer was second in the saddle bronc standings going to Dallas with 2,462.5 points, 62.5 behind Isaac Diaz, but Sheer came out on top. He won the opening go-round by scoring 85.5 points, was third in the second go with 82.5 and took second on Nov. 13 with 86. He finished the year with 3,962.5 points while Wade Sundell was the runner-up with 3,425.

Diaz, who is married to Britney Diaz, the barrel racer, finished fourth with 2,625 points.

Ferley, an eight time PRCA finals qualifier and twice the world champion, finished the ERA season with 2,315 points. He was second to Scheer in the opening go-round with 82 points, did not place in the second session and was fifth on his final horse with 83 points.

The ERA has been formed this year by an array of pro rodeo’s top cowboys and cowgirls. Its participants included those who have won 135 PRCA world championships.